Lucy Dacus – Home Video (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Lucy Dacus – Home Video (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 45:36 minutes | 505 MB | Genre: Folk, Folk Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Matador

This new gift from Dacus, her third album, was built on an interrogation of her coming-of-age years in Richmond, VA. Many songs start the way a memoir might— “In the summer of ’07 I was sure I’d go to heaven, but I was hedging my bets at VBS” — and all of them have the compassion, humour, and honesty of the best autobiographical writing. Most importantly and mysteriously, this album displays Dacus’s ability to use the personal as portal into the universal.

“I can’t hide behind generalizations or fiction anymore,” Dacus says, though talking about these songs, she admits, makes her ache. That Home Video arrives at the end of this locked down, fearful era seems as preordained as the messages within. “I don’t necessarily think that I’m supposed to understand the songs just because I made them,” Dacus says, “I feel like there’s this person who has been in me my whole life and I’m doing my best to represent them.” After more than a year of being homebound, in a time when screens and video calls were sometimes our only form of contact, looking backward was a natural habit for many.

If we haven’t learned it already, this album is a gorgeous example of the transformative power of vulnerability. Dacus’s voice, both audible and on the page, has a healer’s power to soothe and ground and reckon.


1. Lucy Dacus – Hot & Heavy
2. Lucy Dacus – Christine
3. Lucy Dacus – First Time
4. Lucy Dacus – VBS
5. Lucy Dacus – Cartwheel
6. Lucy Dacus – Thumbs
7. Lucy Dacus – Going Going Gone
8. Lucy Dacus – Partner in Crime
9. Lucy Dacus – Brando
10. Lucy Dacus – Please Stay
11. Lucy Dacus – Triple Dog Dare