Luca Scandali – Veggio, Rodio, Bertoldo: Complete Organ Music (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Luca Scandali – Veggio, Rodio, Bertoldo: Complete Organ Music (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:39:22 minutes | 1,83 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Brilliant Classics

A trio of 16th-century Italian organist composers, two of them almost entirely new to the record catalogues.

The name of Claudio Veggio (1510-1543) would hardly be known were it not for the survival of the Manoscritto di Castell’Arquato, one of the earliest and most important collections of Italian keyboard music from the first half of the 16th century. The manuscript’s many ricercari, mass movements, Magnificats, motets, chansons, dances and madrigal intabulations are the work of composers almost forgotten today, but Scandali’s performances on a historically fitting organ give Veggio’s music a new lease of life. The six ricercari show strong affinities with the works in the same genre by the better-known Cavazzoni; his only other surviving work is a four-part harmonisation of a song, La fugitiva.

Dating from the following generation, the Bari-born Rocco Rodio (c.1535-after 1615) enjoys marginally fuller representation on disc, but this is still the first complete collection of his surviving work for organ, which is preserved by a Libro di Ricercate published in Naples in 1575. This volume is a historical landmark in its own right, as the first known printed edition of instrumental music in open score. His vocal music was also published in Rome and Venice, but Rodio appears to have made his career in Naples, and these organ works share the extrovert quality and awareness of contemporary developments demonstrated by Neapolitan composers which would in due course come to make the city known as the ‘conservatoire of Europe’.

Our third composer is the Modenese composer Sperindio Bertoldo, born like Rodio around 1530 but dying considerably earlier, in 1570. The Brilliant Classics catalogue of Italian organ music is unrivalled in its reach and depth; this is the label’s second recording of Bertoldo’s organ music after Manuel Tomadin’s recent album (95874) which received an enthusiastic welcome from the Dutch Klassieke Zaken journal: Tomadin’s performances are ‘Imaginative, compelling and closely related to the vocal music that is so important in the renaissance.’

Luca Scandali plays an organ built by Lorenzo da Prato (1471-75) in the Basilica of San Petronio, Bologna. The organ has been well maintained through its history and was sympathetically restored in the 1970s, making it an ideal instrument on which to appreciate the colours and mixtures which these 16th-century organist-composers had in mind. The booklet includes a specification of the organ plus contextual notes on the lives and careers of the composers.

01. Veggio: Recercar Del Primo Tono
02. Veggio: Recercada Prima Del Primo Tono Per B Mole
03. Veggio: Recercar Del Quinto Tono Per B Mole
04. Veggio: La Fugitive
05. Veggio: Recercada Per B Quadro Del Quarto Tono
06. Veggio: Recercada Per B Mol Del Primo Tono
07. Veggio: Recercada Per B Quadro Del Primo Tono
08. Rodio: Ricercata Prima
09. Rodio: Fantasia Sopra, Ave Maris Stella
10. Rodio: Seconda Ricercata
11. Rodio: Fantasia Sopra, Salve Regina
12. Rodio: Terza Ricercata
13. Rodio: Fantasia Sopra, La Mi Re Fa Mi Re, Sa Spagna
14. Rodio: Quarta Ricercata
15. Rodio: Fantasia Sopra, Iste Confessor
16. Rodio: Quinta Ricercata
17. Bertoldo: Toccata Prima
18. Bertoldo: Ricercar Del Primo Tuono
19. Bertoldo: Hor Vienza Vien
20. Bertoldo: Ricercar Del Terzo Tuono
21. Bertoldo: Canzon Francese
22. Bertoldo: Un Gai Berger
23. Bertoldo: Petit Fleur
24. Bertoldo: Ricercar Del Sesto Tuono
25. Bertoldo: Frais E Gagliard
26. Bertoldo: Toccata Seconda