Louis Armstrong – Satchmo Plays King Oliver (1960/2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Louis Armstrong – Satchmo Plays King Oliver (1960/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 44:29 minutes | 744 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Audio Fidelity

“Satchmo Plays King Oliver” is one of those titles that audiophiles have known about for years and a favorite at Hi-Fi shows for demonstration. The first cut, “St. James Infimary” is out of this world like many of the other tunes including a great version of “Frankie and Johnny”. This record is Louis’ tribute to the man who helped shape his trumpet style back in New Orleans and whose invitation to join his band in Chicago put him in the spotlight which has shone on him ever since.

In October 1959, more than four years since his last tribute album (Satch Plays Fats), Louis Armstrong gathered his All-Stars for a session paying homage to King Oliver – his earliest musical hero and the man who enabled two of his breakout gigs (first in 1918, when he took over Oliver’s spot in Kid Ory’s band, and later, in 1922, when Oliver summoned him to Chicago to join his own group). Armstrong selected all the material, which ranges from songs with a direct King Oliver connection – either written by him or played by him – to a few of Armstrong’s period favorites that, he admitted with a sly smile, “Joe [Oliver] might have played.” The sextet, including veterans Peanuts Hucko on clarinet and Trummy Young on trombone, relaxes into a perfect New Orleans groove, allowing Armstrong to stretch out to especially good effect on the haunting dirge “St. James Infirmary” – barely three minutes in its original incarnation as a 1928 Hot Five session but close to five here.


01 – St. James Infirmary (Gambler’s Blues)
02 – I Want a Big Butter & Egg Man
03 – I Ain’t Got Nobody
04 – Panama
05 – Dr. Jazz
06 – Hot Time in the Old Town Tonight
07 – Frankie and Johnny
08 – I Ain’t Gonna Give Nobody None of This Jelly Roll
09 – Drop That Sack
10 – Jelly Roll Blues
11 – Old Kentucky Home
12 – Chimes Blues

Recorded at Radio Recorders Studio in Hollywood, CA – over three days at the end of September and the beginning of October 1959.

Louis Armstrong – trumpet, vocals
Peanuts Hucko – clarinet
Trummy Young – trombone
Billy Kyle – piano
Mort Herbert – bass
Danny Barcelona – drums