Loreena McKennitt – Lost Souls (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1Hz]

Loreena McKennitt – Lost Souls (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 47:55 minutes | 521 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Quinlan Road

Loreena McKennitt’s first release of original material since 2006, Lost Souls is a rich and culturally eclectic recording, which one has come to expect from this unique artist. It is a rich tapestry of contemporary thoughts woven with threads from the Celts to the Bedouins, stitched with the sounds of a diverse collection of musical voices, including nyckelharpa, oud, kanoun, a military band and flamenco guitar. An exotic musical journey like no other. The album is available worldwide on May 11th.

“I chose to collect and complete this poesy of songs being reminded of the maze of days when they were born.
Upon listening, I reflect on the many hours spent with a glorious feast of musicians, deep in the beauty of the English Wiltshire countryside.

Some of these songs were begun years ago. At times, they have felt like Lost Souls, not having found a home on any of my previous recordings. Like unexpected travellers, they appeared on the path of previous journeys. While some of these songs have no direct connection to my pursuit of the history of the Celts, they are eager to find a resting place nonetheless. Like the hymn Amazing Grace, ‘I once was lost, but now am found’.
I think of a vagabond, who when wandering the street late at night, was stopped by a policeman and asked why he was out so late, to which he replied, “if I knew the answer to that question I would have been home hours ago.”

Perhaps we are not lost, just taking a long time returning home.” (Loreena McKennitt)

01. Spanish Guitars and Night Plazas 06:41
02. A Hundred Wishes 04:34
03. Ages Past, Ages Hence 05:27
04. The Ballad of the Fox Hunter 05:48
05. Manx Ayre 04:03
06. La Belle Dame Sans Merci 06:09
07. Sun, Moon and Stars 04:34
08. Breaking of the Sword 05:30
09. Lost Souls 05:09