Lise Davidsen – Beethoven – Wagner – Verdi (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Lise Davidsen – Beethoven – Wagner – Verdi (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:03:20 minutes | 1,05 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Decca Music Group Ltd.

Her second album explodes from the speakers with Leonore’s aria from Fidelio, the role which bowled over critics in March 2020: “She will surely be the outstanding Leonore of the next generation.” Financial Times. Presenting some of the great operatic heroines from the German and Italian repertoire: Verdi’s Leonora from La forza del destino, Cherubini’s Medea, and Santuzza in Cavalleria rusticana further demonstrating her versatility. Featuring Wagner’s five Wesendonck Lieder which has become a signature piece for Lise and which affords us a glimpse of her future Isolde. Recorded in lockdown with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and the doyen of British opera conductors, Sir Mark Elder.

“It’s a one-in-a-million voice.” Antonio Pappano

“Voices like hers come round once in a generation.” – Financial Times

“The voice of the century.” – ZDF Heute Journal

“A God-given instrument, used with sensitive artistry. To hear it alone is worth the price of any ticket.” The Daily Telegraph

“A once-in-a-generation-voice” – Opera Magazine

“One of the greatest vocal talents to have emerged in recent years, if not decades.” – Gramophone

For her second recital, soprano Lise Davidsen offers a more aesthetically varied repertoire than her first, conducted by Esa-Pekka Salonen. In this previous outing, she tackled some Wagner arias (Tannhäuser) and pages by Richard Strauss, including the Vier letzte Lieder – Qobuzissime. Here she remains in the midst of the nineteenth century, covering Beethoven’s dramatic Ah Perfido! as well as Wagner’s Wesendonck Lieder, and including some of the hits of Italian Romantic opera, such as Pace, pace, mio Dio from La Forza del destino or Ave Maria, piena di grazia from Otello (Verdi). Cherubini’s extract from Medea is included almost for its curiosity value! Throughout this recital, which is perhaps more satisfying than the first, a very attentive Sir Mark Elder weaves an orchestral backdrop of great finesse, which allow his soprano (Wagner) to shine. Yet one feels that he needs the stage, and a live audience, to be able to work all of his magic, a bit like Leonie Rysanek once did. – Pierre-Yves Lascar


1. Lise Davidsen – Abscheulicher! Wo eilst du hin?
2. Lise Davidsen – Beethoven: Ah perfido!, Op. 65: Recitativo. Allegro con brio (Ed. Herttrich)
3. Lise Davidsen – Beethoven: Ah perfido!, Op. 65: Aria. Adagio (Ed. Herttrich)
4. Lise Davidsen – Beethoven: Ah perfido!, Op. 65: Allegro assai “Ah crudel! crudel!” (Ed. Herttrich)
5. Lise Davidsen – Dei tuoi figli la madre (Ed. Testi)
6. Lise Davidsen – Voi lo sapete, o mama
7. Lise Davidsen – Pace, pace, mio Dio
8. Lise Davidsen – Ave Maria, piena di grazia
9. Lise Davidsen – 1. Der Engel (Orch. Mottl)
10. Lise Davidsen – 2. Stehe still! (Orch. Mottl)
11. Lise Davidsen – 3. Im Treibhaus (Orch. Mottl)
12. Lise Davidsen – 4. Schmerzen (Orch. Mottl)
13. Lise Davidsen – 5. Träume (Orch. Wagner)