Lionel Richie – Back To Front (1992/2015) [Qobuz 24bit/96kHz]

Lionel Richie – Back To Front (1992/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:00:40 minutes | 1,25 GB | Genre: Soul, Funk, R&B
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Motown Records
Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA; Conway Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA; Devonshire Recording Studios, North Hollywood, CA; Motown Recording Studio, West Hollywood, CA; Oceanway Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA.

Richie’s fourth album, originally released in 1992, was his first compilation album containing 14 tracks, four of them recorded with the Commodores. Also included in the track listing is Endless Love, his duet with Diana Ross.

„On his own and as part of the Commodores, by 1992 Lionel Richie amassed more than enough singles for a greatest-hits collection. Unfortunately, this is one of those compilations that, good intentions aside, falls so flat there’s not much point in buying it. By trying to cover his solo material, while touching base with his Commodores fans, and adding some new cuts, no part of his career is well represented. For the record, Back to Front lacks ‘Oh No,’ ‘Lady You Bring Me Up,’ ‘Ballerina Girl,’ ‘You Are,’ ‘My Love,’ ‘Stuck on You,’ ‘Love Will Conquer All,’ ‘Se La,’ and ‘Dancing on the Ceiling,’ all Top 40 hits. If Motown had concentrated solely on solo Richie, with another collection of Commodores hits, this could have been a solid, career-topping CD. As it is, it’s strong, but hearing such gems as ‘Still,’ ‘Truly,’ ‘Say You, Say Me,’ and ‘Running With the Night’ makes you long to hear the cuts that aren’t here. Of the three new songs, ‘Do It to Me’ and ‘My Destiny’ are classic, smooth Richie, but ‘Love, Oh Love’ is very schmaltzy. If you’re a casual Lionel Richie fan, this might suffice, but for anyone who truly enjoys pop music, this collection is not worth your money.“ -Bryan Buss


1. Do It To Me 06:04
2. My Destiny 04:49
3. Love Oh Love 05:47
4. All Night Long 04:20
5. Easy 04:18
6. Still 03:46
7. Endless Love 04:29
8. Running With The Night 04:10
9. Sail On 04:01
10. Hello 04:11
11. Truly 03:24
12. Penny Lover 03:48
13. Say You, Say Me 04:04
14. Three Times A Lady 03:38

Lionel Richie, vocals, keyboards
Diana Ross, vocals
Michael Landau, guitar
David Williams, guitar
Marc Russo, saxophone
Bradley Cole, synthesizers
‘Ready’ Freddie Washington, bass
Jim Keltner, drums
Lenny Castro, percussion
Quincy D. Jones III, drum programming



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.