Linda Guilala – Espacio De Tiempo (2009-2019) (2020) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Linda Guilala – Espacio De Tiempo (2009-2019) (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 01:17:49 minutes | 1 GB | Genre: Indie Rock, Dreampop, Shoegaze, Female Vocal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Elefant Records

Emerging from the ashes of punky indie pop act Juniper Moon in 2005, Linda Guilala started out like a slightly moodier sibling of the former band before drastically changing up their sound on subsequent releases, becoming heavier, noisier, and spacier while writing increasingly darker, more personal lyrics. Espacio de Tiempo (2009-2019) collects 78 minutes’ worth of highlights from the two full-lengths and numerous singles and EPs the band released during that time period, and while a lengthy, career-to-date-spanning compilation might seem like a strange move for such a relatively obscure band, listening makes it clear that this a tremendously talented, creative group who deserve wider recognition. Arranged non-chronologically, the collection gives the listener a sense of how much stylistic range the band have covered while demonstrating their skills at writing consistently catchy and well-crafted songs. The lyrics to “Nadie Se Dar’a Cuenta,” from 2009 debut Bucles Infinitos, are about masking one’s pain with bright colors, and the three selections taken from the album all seem to follow that premise, mixing peppy organs and summery guitars with downcast (but slightly hopeful) lyrics. Two tunes from 2011’s Paranormal EP are present, and while they allude to vintage horror and sci-fi (much like the band’s name itself, a reference to 1967 kaiju epic The X from Outer Space), the songs are still about emptiness and anxiety — “Un Mill’on de Zombies M’as” expresses a desire to not just become another zombie lost in the city. Guitarist Bruno Mosquera joined the group in time for 2014’s Xeristar EP, adding a Wall of Sound shoegaze attack to the band’s music, and this is where they really started to take off. The blazing guitar effects add an emotional heft to the blunt apologies of “Lo Siento Mucho,” and the deceptively cheery “Verano” disguises its lyrics about spending a rainy summer alone with a surging rhythm and slightly surfy guitars. All of this built up to Linda Guilala’s astonishing second album, 2016’s Psicon’autica, a sprawling, ambitious suite of searing noise-pop tunes and atmospheric interludes. Tracks like “Fobia Social II” and “La ‘Ultima Vez (1a Recidiva)” are overpowering whirlwinds, filled with densely layered effects and rich, yearning melodies which match the power of the soul-crushing lyrics, whether or not the listener is fluent in Spanish. After Psicon’autica, the band shifted their lineup again, with Mari V’azquez replacing Mosquera, and they released a productive run of non-album singles, including the dramatic echo-gaze ballad “Primavera Negra” and the ecstatic, Krautrocky fan favorite “Mucho Mejor.” Seemingly moving away from the harsher aspects of their second album, their newer material is no less complex or vivid, and it’ll be exciting to hear what directions they explore from here. – Paul Simpson

1. Lo Siento Mucho (03:49)
2. Agosto (03:44)
3. Mucho Mejor (04:02)
4. Estado Natural (05:04)
5. Cayendo (2a Recidiva) (03:16)
6. La ‘Ultima Vez (1a Recidiva) (03:19)
7. Verano (03:19)
8. Te He Cambiado (02:53)
9. Cientos De Ovnis (03:31)
10. Primavera Negra (03:34)
11. Accidente (03:04)
12. Sexta Dimensi’on (03:46)
13. Ausencia Es Presencia (03:48)
14. Mucho M’as Joven (03:30)
15. Chicas Guapas (Que Van A Trabajar En Moto) (04:15)
16. Ser’a M’as F’acil (03:45)
17. Cosas Nuevas (02:07)
18. Espacio De Tiempo (03:50)
19. ‘Exodo (03:44)
20. Fobia Social II (03:06)
21. Nadie Se Dar’a Cuenta (03:08)
22. Un Mill’on De Zombies M’as (03:26)