Lincoln Trio – Trios from the City of Big Shoulders (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Lincoln Trio – Trios from the City of Big Shoulders (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:08:23 minutes | 1,14 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Cedille

The twice-Grammy-nominated Lincoln Trio — violinist Desirée Ruhstrat, cellist David Cunliffe, and pianist Marta Aznavoorian — offers engaging, rarely heard piano trios by 20th-century Chicago composers Leo Sowerby, winner of the Rome Prize and Pulitzer Prize for music, and Ernst Bacon, recipient of three Guggenheim Fellowships and a Pulitzer Fellowship.

Bacon’s Trio No. 2 for Violin, Cello and Piano (1987) receives its world-premiere recording. Hailed by The New York Times as “a Composer Known for Echoing America,” Bacon infuses the six-movement trio with American influences including marches, folksong-like melodies, and jazz rhythms, validating Virgil Thomson’s assessment of Bacon’s music as “full of melody and variety; honest and skillful and beautiful.”

Sowerby’s Trio for violin, violincello and pianoforte (1953) is “a work of tremendous integrity” that exhibits an “imposing structure, contrapuntal gymnastics, and a concern for instruments sounding as good as they can” (Classical Net). Sometimes virtuosic, sometimes reflective, the work is distinguished by an ever-evolving rhythmic and harmonic interplay between instruments.

1. Piano Trio No. 2: Ia. Lento (06:16)
2. Piano Trio No. 2: Ib. In Deliberate March Time (02:07)
3. Piano Trio No. 2: II. In an Easy Walk (04:49)
4. Piano Trio No. 2: III. Gravely Expressive (06:27)
5. Piano Trio No. 2: IV. Allegro (05:08)
6. Piano Trio No. 2: V. Commodo (01:55)
7. Piano Trio No. 2: VI. Vivace, ma non presto (04:39)
8. Piano Trio, H. 312: I. Slow & Solemn (14:34)
9. Piano Trio, H. 312: II. Quiet & Serene (13:19)
10. Piano Trio, H. 312: III. Fast. With Broad Sweep (09:09)