Lil Wayne – Tha Carter V (Deluxe Edition) (2018/2020) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Lil Wayne – Tha Carter V (Deluxe Edition) (2018/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 02:05:56 minutes | 1,39 GB | Genre: Rap
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Young Money Records, Inc.

Two years after the arrival of Tha Carter V, Grammy Award-winning rapper Lil Wayne has released the deluxe edition of his 12th studio album via Young Money Records/Republic Records. The album features seven new, unreleased tracks and three previously released tracks, bringing the tracklist to a whopping 33 songs across just over two hours.

The additional tracks on The Carter V boast collaborations with Post Malone (“What About Me”), Gucci Mane (“In This House”), 2 Chainz (“Siri”), and Raekwon (“More To The Story”). This star-studded lineup builds on the original album’s features, which included appearances by Nicki Minaj, Travis Scott, Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg, Ashanti, and Wayne’s daughter Reginae Carter.

In 2018, Lil Wayne set himself a huge challenge: making a follow-up album for his series Tha Carter that he had started 14 years earlier. With Tha Carter V, he managed to strike a balance between pop (like on the soothing tracks Famous and Mess) and rougher sounds (particularly on the hard-hitter Uproar, produced by Swizz Beats). He also invited along a load of guests that confirmed his status: the likes of Kendrick Lamar, Nicki Minaj and Travis Scott. The record divided the critics. Though we shouldn’t overlook the fact that the album was perfectly in line with how the New Orleans native’s music had been evolving over the past ten years. Even if some people don’t like it. This deluxe edition is special for the fact that all the previously unreleased tracks are placed at the beginning. There are nine of them and – let’s not beat around the bush – they’re much darker and trap-tinged than the original record. It’s less about adding colour to Tha Carter V or trying to deepen the sound and more about giving the audience the bangers they’re after. And it works. We find More To The Story, a trap track featuring Raekwon with threatening synths. It’s definitely one of the best new tracks on the album. And while Lost, with its soaring strings and piano, reminds listeners that Lil Wayne is the boss of pop-trap, you can still feel the raw side of his work. You feel it right from the start on Life of Mr. Carter through to Hasta La Vista. Despite a few disappointments like Siri featuring 2 Chainz, the rapper unleashes his signature sound; frantically repeated vocals like on In This House (featuring Gucci Mane, another legend on the project). A deluxe edition that gets straight to the point. – Brice Miclet

1. Life of Mr. Carter (03:40)
2. Holy (03:55)
3. More to the Story (feat. Raekwon) (03:21)
4. Scottie (04:44)
5. F Him Good (03:29)
6. Siri (feat. 2 Chainz) (04:52)
7. Lost (04:14)
8. In This House (feat. Gucci Mane) (03:32)
9. What About Me (feat. Post Malone) (03:36)
10. Hasta La Vista (02:51)
11. I Love You Dwayne (02:00)
12. Don’t Cry (feat. XXXTENTACION) (04:09)
13. Dedicate (03:09)
14. Uproar (feat. Swizz Beatz) (03:13)
15. Let It Fly (feat. Travis Scott) (03:06)
16. Can’t Be Broken (03:13)
17. Dark Side of the Moon (feat. Nicki Minaj) (04:02)
18. Mona Lisa (feat. Kendrick Lamar) (05:24)
19. What About Me (feat. Sosamann) (03:36)
20. Open Letter (04:29)
21. Famous (feat. Reginae Carter) (04:02)
22. Problems (03:28)
23. Dope N****z (feat. Snoop Dogg) (03:25)
24. Hittas (03:43)
25. Took His Time (04:22)
26. Open Safe (03:43)
27. Start This Shit Off Right (feat. Ashanti & Mack Maine) (04:40)
28. Demon (03:34)
29. Mess (03:32)
30. Dope New Gospel (feat. Nivea) (03:27)
31. Perfect Strangers (04:09)
32. Used 2 (04:00)
33. Let It All Work Out (05:16)