Leonard Cohen – Various Positions (1984/2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Leonard Cohen – Various Positions (1984/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44.1kHz | Time – 00:35:32 minutes | 382 MB | Genre: Folk Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Columbia Records
Recorded: June 1984 at Quadrasonic Sound, New York

Various Positions is the seventh studio album by Leonard Cohen, released in December 1984 (and February 1985). It marked not only his turn to the modern sound and use of synthesizers (particularly on the opening track), but also, after his work on harmonies and backing vocals on the previous Recent Songs (1979), an even greater contribution from Jennifer Warnes, who is credited equally to Cohen as vocalist on all of the tracks.

Recorded with vocalist Jennifer Warnes (who later cut the album Famous Blue Raincoat, a collection of Leonard Cohen compositions), Various Positions is a stunning return to form — Cohen’s strongest work since New Skin for the Old Ceremony. Cryptic and spartan, the set continues in the eclectic vein of recent efforts, but with greater clarity and focus, resulting in an intriguingly diffuse collection ranging from the Serge Gainsbourg-esque pop of “Dance Me to the End of Love” to the boozy, country-inflected “The Captain.” -Jason Ankeny

1 Dance Me To The End Of Love 4:40
2 Coming Back To You 3:30
3 The Law 4:22
4 Night Comes On 4:36
5 Hallelujah 4:34
6 The Captain 4:05
7 Hunter’s Lullaby 2:23
8 Heart With No Companion 3:01
9 If It Be Your Will 3:40

Leonard Cohen – vocals, guitar, photography (polaroid shot)
Jennifer Warnes – vocals
John Lissauer – piano, keyboard orchestrations, backing vocals, producer, arranger
Leanne Ungar – recording, mixing
John Crowder – backing vocals, bass guitar
Anjani Thomas, Crissie Faith, Erin Dickins, Lani Groves, Merle Miller, Ron Getman, Yvonne Lewis – backing vocals
Sid McGinnis – guitar
Richard Crooks – drums