Leonard Cohen – The Future (1992/2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Leonard Cohen – The Future (1992/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44.1kHz | Time – 00:59:37 minutes | 651 MB | Genre: Folk Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Columbia Records
Recorded: January – June 1992

As with most every Leonard Cohen album, a new record means a new means of musical exploration. With The Future, Cohen adds chiming synthesizers and eerie orchestrations to his brooding anthems about life’s darker half. One of the last of Cohen’s full-length albums, The Future is definitely one of the most direct. More notable tracks include “The Future” and “Waiting for the Miracle,” both of which were featured on the Natural Born Killers soundtrack. Closer to spoken word poetry set to music than simply songs, the entire album is one long manifesto calling all to challenge the concepts of righteousness and despair in our modern world. Regardless of the music behind the man, Cohen still manages to bring to The Future what he brought to his earlier recordings: one man against the world with nothing but a gruff voice and a cause. -Christopher Fielder

1 The Future 6:42
2 Waiting For The Miracle 7:43
3 Be For Real 4:32
4 Closing Time 6:00
5 Anthem 6:09
6 Democracy 7:14
7 Light As The Breeze 7:16
8 Always 8:04
9 Tacoma Trailer 5:56

Arranged By, Conductor – David Campbell
Drums – Steve Meador, James Gadson, Vinnie Colaiuta, Ed Greene
Percussion, Tambourine – Lenny Castro
Backing Vocals – Anjani Thomas, Jacquelyn Gouche-Farris, Tony Warren, Valerie Pinkston-Mayo, Julie Christensen, Perla Batalla, David Morgan, Jennifer Warnes, Julie Christensen, Edna Wright, Jean Johnson, Peggy Blue
Guitar, Mandolin, Acoustic Guitar, Guitar [Weissenborn] – Dean Parks
Violin – Bob Furgo
Piano – Greg Phillinganes
Bass, Electric Guitar, Guitar, Steel Guitar [Pedal] – Bob Metzger
Choir – LA Mass Choir
Conductor [Choir] – Donald Taylor
Keyboards [Additional] – Randy Kerber, Steve Lindsey
Synthesizer [Synth Bass] – John Barnes
Baritone Saxophone – Greg Smith
Bass – Lee Sklar
Electric Guitar – Dennis Herring
Organ [Pad] – Michael Finnigan
Piano – Jim Cox
Tenor Saxophone – Brandon Fields, Lon Price
Choir – Aladrian Elmore, Brenda Eager, Carmen Twillie, Cynthia Bass, Dana Stockard, Evette Andrews, Gigi Bailey, Jeralynthia Banks, Jimmie Frazier, Julia Waters, Julie Christensen, Kevin Shoates, Lashana Dendy, Lavan Davis, Laythan Amot, Maxine Waters, Mona Lisa Young, Nysa Larry, Oren Waters, Patricia Finnie, Perla Batalla, Raven Kane, Roseland Parker, Sonya Griffin, Stephen Lively, Steve Berkley, Theresa Walker
Strings – Berj Garabedian, Bruce Dukov, Daniel Smith, David Campbell, Donald Ferrone, Joel Derouin, Larry Corbett, Raymond Tischer, II, Ron Clark, Sid Page, Suzie Katayama, Thomas Tally