Led Zeppelin – Houses Of The Holy (1973) {Deluxe Edition 2014} [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Led Zeppelin – Houses Of The Holy {Deluxe Edition 2014]
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:17:07 minutes | 1,69 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HighResAudio.com | Front cover | © Warner Music

The Led Zeppelin reissue campaign got off to an remarkable start in June 2014 as deluxe editions of Led Zeppelin, Led Zeppelin II, and Led Zeppelin III debuted in the top 10 of the Billboard Top 200 Albums chart. The albums achieved similar international success with debuts near the top of the charts in more than a dozen territories, including Canada, France, Germany, Japan, and the United Kingdom. For the second round, the band prepared the reissues of Led Zeppelin IV (the third best-selling album in U.S. history) and Houses Of The Holy. As with the previous deluxe editions, both albums have been newly remastered by guitarist and producer Jimmy Page and are accompanied by a second disc of companion audio comprised entirely of unreleased music related to that album.

Houses of the Holy follows the same basic pattern as Led Zeppelin IV, but the approach is looser and more relaxed. Jimmy Page’s riffs rely on ringing, folky hooks as much as they do on thundering blues-rock, giving the album a lighter, more open atmosphere. While the pseudo-reggae of “D’Yer Mak’er” and the affectionate James Brown send-up “The Crunge” suggest that the band was searching for material, they actually contribute to the musical diversity of the album. “The Rain Song” is one of Zep’s finest moments, featuring a soaring string arrangement and a gentle, aching melody. “The Ocean” is just as good, starting with a heavy, funky guitar groove before slamming into an a cappella section and ending with a swinging, doo wop-flavored rave-up. With the exception of the rampaging opening number, “The Song Remains the Same,” the rest of Houses of the Holy is fairly straightforward, ranging from the foreboding “No Quarter” and the strutting hard rock of “Dancing Days” to the epic folk/metal fusion “Over the Hills and Far Away.” Throughout the record, the band’s playing is excellent, making the eclecticism of Page and Robert Plant’s songwriting sound coherent and natural.

01 – The Song Remains The Same
02 – The Rain Song
03 – Over The Hills And Far Away
04 – The Crunge
05 – Dancing Days
06 – D’yer Mak’er
07 – No Quarter
08 – The Ocean
09 – The Song Remains The Same (Guitar Overdub Reference Mix)
10 – The Rain Song (Mix Minus Piano)
11 – Over The Hills And Far Away (Guitar Mix Backing Track)
12 – The Crunge (Rough Mix – Keys Up)
13 – Dancing Days (Rough Mix with Vocal)
14 – No Quarter (Rough Mix With JPJ Keyboard Overdubs – No Vocal)
15 – The Ocean (Working Mix)