Lavinia Meijer – The Glass Effect (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Lavinia Meijer – The Glass Effect (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:56:04 minutes | 1,83 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Sony Classical
Recorded: Muziekgebouw Eindhoven, Netherlands, July 1-6, 2016

This double album includes the theme of Koyaanisqatsi and 10 Etudes by Philip Glass. Lavinia: “This tribute album is about the effect Glass’s music has on me and his influence on the younger generation composers. His music connected me to the younger generation of composers of today: Bryce Dessner, Nico Muhly, Nils Frahm, Ólafur Arnalds and Ellis Ludwig-Leone. They all have been influenced by Glass and created their own musical language. You will hear music of these wonderful composers as well on this album!”

It was five years ago when Lavinia Meijer and Philip Glass first met. It marked the beginning of a new musical journey for Lavinia, exploring minimal music and contemporary composers. In the past year Lavinia started working on transcribing his Etudes for harp, a process Philip Glass himself was very much involved in. He supported and encouraged Lavinia in her arrangement choices of his works. Sony Classical is proud to release Lavinia’s new album The Glass Effect, available digitally on November 4 and CD December 16. It features Glass repertoire as well as other contemporary works inspired by the music of Philip Glass. Lavinia will give a special performance of Glass’ Piano Etudes and Bryce Dessner’s Suites for Harp in Brooklyn, NY on October 19th at National Sawdust (Click HERE for tickets)
Born in South-Korea and at the age of two adopted into a Dutch family, Lavinia started to play the harp at the age of nine. Within two years she was admissioned to study at the young talent class of the conservatory of Utrecht (Bachelor) and later at the conservatory of Amsterdam (Master). At both conservatories she graduated with Honours. Her success at the conservatory of Amsterdam was a prelude on Lavinia’s career to come. She performed only contemporary compositions at her graduation concert, making a firm statement already: Lavinia is here to add new chapters to the history of music.
Besides performing the classic harp repertoire, Lavinia also experiments with electronic music, theatrical music, contemporary music, modern classics, and jazz.
Soon after her graduation Lavinia received the Borletti-Buitoni Trust (London, 2006). In 2007 Lavinia was heralded as the “Rising Star” musician of her generation. She performed solo-recitals at concert halls like Musikverein (Vienna), Carnegie Hall (New York), Philharmonie (Köln), Jerusalem Theater, Seoul Arts Center, Royal Concertgebouw (Amsterdam), Cité-de-la-Musique (Paris), Konzerthus (Stockholm), and Symphony Hall (Birmingham, UK).
Her broad interest to find new sounds on and new compositions for the harp has led her to meet the American composer Philip Glass in 2011. He invited her to his concert in Amsterdam where she performed his Metamorphosis I-V on the harp. “You are the special effect of this evening”, he told Lavinia after the show, and he urged Lavinia to record a full album of Glass’ compostions. The result was overwhelming. Metamorphosis / The Hours received mostly 5 star reviews (not just in the Dutch press), reached certified Platinum and turned Lavinia into a star in her own Country.



Philip Glass (b.1937)
Etudes (1994/2012)
1 Etude No. 1 06:27
2 Etude No. 2 06:54
3 Etude No. 5 08:10
4 Etude No. 8 05:05
5 Etude No. 9 03:28
6 Etude No. 12 07:34
7 Etude No. 16 05:21
8 Etude No. 17 08:03
9 Etude No. 18 06:21
10 Etude No. 20 09:18

Component 2
11 Koyaanisqatsi04:11

Bryce Dessner (b.1976)
Suite for Harp
12 Movement I 03:59
13 Movement II 01:28
14 Movement III 06:08

Nico Muhly (1981)
15 Quiet Music 03:54
16 A Hudson Cycle 02:55

Ólafur Arnalds (b.1986)
17 Erla’s Waltz 01:54
18 Tomorrow’s Song 03:06

Nils Frahm (b.1982)
19 Ambre 03:51
20 In the Sky and on the Ground 02:09

Ellis Ludwig-Leone
21 Night Loops 08:50

Philip Glass (b.1937)
22 Lift Off – An Arrangement of Koyaanisqatsi 05:49

Lavinia Meijer, harp