Lara Downes – New Day Begun (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Lara Downes – New Day Begun (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 58:13 minutes | 488 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Rising Sun Records

“New Day Begun” features works by Black American composers whose music resounds as a celebration of heritage, a cry for freedom, a call to action, and a promise to the next generation. This collection embraces a reawakening, as we emerge from the darkness of pandemic to craft a new American era.

Inspired by her own mixed-race heritage, which she has explored for decades as a trailblazing interpreter of diverse American musical traditions, Ms. Downes created Rising Sun Music to broaden and enrich the conventional narratives of classical music in the United States and beyond. The composers featured in this eclectic series and album-from musical pioneers to leading voices of today-represent a musical heritage whose story is rarely told on its own terms.

These songs are anthems, deeply rooted in distinct Black histories and struggles. Revisiting and reimagining them now feels like part of a vast effort to reckon with history and redefine the power of change. I’m finding in these songs an opportunity to honor the legacy of the past, while embracing the power of the present and the possibility of the future. I know I’m not alone in feeling a new kind of hope, a new understanding that change only comes because we call it. When millions of us come together-out of isolation, despite pandemic-to march for justice; when we vote, standing in line for as long as it takes; when we focus on our everyday actions, no matter how small; when we lift every voice; we enact change.

1. A Change is Gonna Come (Arr. by Jeremy Siskind) (03:54)
2. Changing Faces (01:47)
3. Come Sunday (feat. PUBLIQuartet) (03:09)
4. Like Moons and Like Suns (02:57)
5. Summerland (03:42)
6. The Ecstasy of Love (feat. Jordan Bak) (07:29)
7. Love Will Find A Way (Arr. by Jeremy Siskind) (03:42)
8. Adoration (feat. Titus Underwood) (02:59)
9. Variations on “Lift Every Voice and Sing” (06:12)
10. When The Dove Enters In (feat. Dav’one Tines) (04:25)
11. When Young Spring Comes (02:17)
12. Caged Bird (feat. Regina Carter) (03:08)
13. Peace Of Mind (03:48)
14. Prayer (feat. PUBLIQuartet) (06:09)
15. I Dream A World (feat. Tonality) (02:35)