La Morra – Splendor da ciel (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

La Morra – Splendor da ciel (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:03:32 minutes | 1,05 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Ramée

Here’s something fascinating: music from the 14th and early 15th centuries, lost for hundreds of years, has now been rediscovered thanks to some space-age technology. Because, in fact, the original manuscripts were never lost. In reality, the paper had been scrubbed and recycled or covered over with palimpsests because of the prohibitive price of parchment at the time. And so a whole body of Florentine works from the era of Petrarch, Boccacio, Dante and Machiavelli was erased to make room for 16th century poems. A careful examination of the San Lorenzo Palimpsest revealed that multi-spectral photography (anyone who knows what that is, raise your hand…) of the pages can render the underlying layer perfectly legible, and so now 111 pages of music from the 14th century can see the light of day. After six hundred years of multi-spectral silence, these pieces are interpreted here by the La Morra ensemble, which specialises in late medieval and Renaissance music with voice and instruments like the lute, vielle, clavicymbalum and recorder. There is an intensity of emotion in hearing these pieces which until now we never knew existed, written by composers of whom we know almost nothing such as Giovanni Mazzuoli and his son Piero, Paolo da Firenze or Jacopo da Bologna. Here they take centre stage.

1. Donna s’io ò errato 04:20
2. Douls m’est amer 02:11
3. Soiez liez 04:07
4. Dopo ch’i’ so 02:50
5. Poc’ hanno di mirar 03:30
6. A’ piè del monte 02:21
7. Lasso dolente 07:31
8. Dicovi per certança 03:18
9. Sotto l’imperio 03:12
10. Splendor da ciel 06:08
11. Le souvenir de vous dame 01:57
12. A Febo Damn’e 05:02
13. Ihesu salvator / Quo vulneratus 01:36
14. Si nichil actuleris / In pretio pretium 02:03
15. O tu, cara sciença mia, Musica 05:27
16. Uom ch’osa di veder 02:43
17. Amor mi stringe assai 05:16

La Morra
Corina Marti, flute
Michal Gondko, lute, direction