La Morra – Dulcedo (2020) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

La Morra – Dulcedo (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:00:40 minutes | 2,43 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © OMF

Medieval Europeans often used various forms of the word ‘sweetness’ (Lat. dulcedo) to describe the beauty of a musical sound. ‘Sweet’ could apply to the sound of the human voice, but also to that of a musical instrument. When the ancestor of the ‘pianoforte’ was invented in the fifteenth century – some 250 years before Cristofori! –, it was baptized ‘sweet melody’ (Lat. dulce melos). Indeed, if there was a sound that medieval people were particularly fond of, it was that of plucked stringed instruments.

This recording explores the combined sound of the harp, the lute and the harpsichord, three of the most popular plucked stringed instruments in late medieval Europe. Corina Marti, Michal Gondko and Marie Nishiyama cast their net wide in the pool of the surviving fourteenth- and fifteenth-century European music, both monophonic and polyphonic.


1. La Morra – Dança amorosa
2. La Morra – En attendant esperance
3. La Morra – Aspre refus
4. La Morra – Che ti zova nascondere
5. La Morra – I’ priego amor
6. La Morra – Andray soulet
7. La Morra – Chançonetta tedescha (Arr. M. Gondko for Chamber Ensemble)
8. La Morra – Stella pia
9. La Morra – O quam pulchra puella – Min herze
10. La Morra – Pax eterna – Iacob scalam – Terribilis (Arr. for Chamber Ensemble)
11. La Morra – Quene note
12. La Morra – Myn hertis lust (Arr. for Chamber Ensemble)
13. La Morra – Auxce bonyour delabonestren
14. La Morra – Qui veut mesdire
15. La Morra – Il sera pour vous conbatu – L’omme armé (Arr. for Chamber Ensemble)
16. La Morra – Ma dame trop vous m’esprennes
17. La Morra – Gross senen
18. La Morra – Lioncello vecchio
19. La Morra – Petit vriens
20. La Morra – Cecus non iudicat de coloribus