Kreator – Gods Of Violence (2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Kreator – Gods Of Violence (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 02:02:50 minutes | 1,61 GB | Genre: Rock, Metal
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Nuclear Blast GmbH

There is plenty of thrash metal out there; too much in fact, as it’s become the most overpopulated zone of heavy music. That said, there’s thrash and then there’s Kreator. Mille Petrozza (vocals, guitars, lyrics) and Jürgen “Ventor” Reil (drums) have always sought to reinvent the wheel while remaining true to their roots. Despite lineup changes — the band currently includes Sami Yli-Sirniö on guitars and bassist Christian “Speesy” Giesler — they’ve always managed to inject vitality, personality, and innovation to this beloved yet musically restricted terrain.

Five years was a long time to wait for a new Kreator album. Given the manic energy of 2016’s Violence Unleashed EP, which whet fans’ appetites for more of the good stuff, it seemed even longer. Produced by Jens Bogren, Gods of Violence is the album the other lineage thrash acts could never make again. It’s impossible to conceive of Metallica or Slayer pulling off anything this intense or imaginative. The 11-song set belongs in the line that began with 2001’s Violent Revolution and continued through 2005’s Enemy of God and 2012’s Phantom Antichrist. (The 2009 release Hordes of Chaos, recorded live in a single studio setting, is the only outlier.) The music here is almost a companion to Enemy of God as it balances its deadly assault with melodic death metal.

Appropriately, it commences with an anthem. “Apocalypticon,” an intro complete with martial drums, a military choir, and razored guitars, with orchestral work from Fleshgod Apocalypse’s Francesco Paoli and Francesco Ferrini, just stops seemingly in the middle and gives way to the brutal “World War Now,” with its triple-time chug and churn. Petrozza’s riffs are as meaty and physical as ever. His vocals ride just enough above the mix to discern his hostile lyrics. In the refrain, the pace increases. First single “Satan Is Real” is all swinging groove and knotty twin-guitar hell, but “Totalitarian Terror” delivers one of the catchiest and most punishing riffs the band has ever laid down. “Lion with Eagle Wings” nods at both classic Judas Priest and later NWOBHM with power metal asides and soaring choruses, all while waving the thrash flag high. Closer “Death Becomes My Light” is a gallop worthy of the entire price of entry all by itself. The way melody and guitar harmonies and riffs are threaded through these tracks is admirable. No. It’s killer. All told, Gods of Violence proves well worth the wait. Kreator proves — yet again — that the kids still have a lot to learn when it comes to keeping thrash viable.

1 Apocalypticon 1:07
2 World War Now 4:28
3 Satan Is Real 4:38
4 Totalitarian Terror 4:45
5 Gods Of Violence 5:51
6 Army Of Storms 5:10
7 Hail To The Hordes 4:02
8 Lion With Eagle WIngs 5:23
9 Fallen Brother 4:37
10 Side By Side 4:20
11 Death Becomes My LIght 7:27
Live @ Wacken 2014
12 Mars Mantra 01:19
13 Phantom Antichrist 04:38
14 From Flood into Fire 06:33
15 Warcurse 06:27
16 Endless Pain 03:25
17 Pleasure to Kill 04:12
18 Hordes of Chaos 05:42
19 Phobia 05:15
20 Enemy of God 06:02
21 Civilization Collapse 04:10
22 The Patriarch 00:52
23 Violent Revolution 06:54
24 United in Hate 08:08
25 Flag of Hate / Tormentor 07:19

Mille Petrozza – vocals, guitar
Sami Yli-Sirniö – guitar
Christian Giesler – bass
Ventor – drums
Boris Pfeiffer (In Extremo) – bagpipes on “Hails to the Hords”
Tekla-Li Wadensten – harp on “Gods of Violence” intro
Dagobert Jäger – vocals on “Fallen Brother”
Ronny Milianowicz
Björn Kromm
Frederik Eriksson
Henrik Andersoon
Mattias Lövdahl
Jens Bogren