Korn – Follow The Leader (1998/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Korn – Follow The Leader (1998/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz | Time – 01:07:12 minutes | 2,5 GB | Genre: Rock, Metal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover| © Epic Records
Recorded: March-May 1998, NRG Recording Studios, North Hollywood, Los Angeles

Follow the Leader is the third studio album by the American nu metal band Korn. The album was released on August 18, 1998, through Immortal/Epic. This was their first album not produced by Ross Robinson. Instead, it was produced by Steve Thompson and Toby Wright.

The album peaked at number one on four charts, including the Billboard 200 with 268,000 units sold in its first week of release, and is often credited with launching nu metal into the mainstream. The album received a 5× Platinum certification in the United States on March 15, 2002 as well as a 3× Platinum in Australia and Canada. Its singles “Got the Life”, and “Freak on a Leash”, both charted on more than three charts, and their music videos are considered to be the first music videos retired from MTV, most notably the MTV show “Total Request Live”. The album generally received positive reviews by critics. Korn was praised by AllMusic saying the album is “an effective follow-up to their first two alt-metal landmarks.”

The Family Values Tour promoted the album, along with its five singles. The song “Freak on a Leash” was nominated for nine MTV Video Music Awards, and won for the Best Rock Video award, as well as Best Editing. The music video for “Freak on a Leash” won Best Short Form Music Video at the 2000 Grammy Awards. Follow the Leader has sold over 7 million copies in the US according to Nielsen SoundScan as of January 4, 2013 and over 14 million copies worldwide, making it Korn’s most successful album.

More than anything, Korn are about sound. They write songs, but those wind up not being nearly as memorable as their lurching metallic hip-hop grind. They have yet to exhaust that sound, and that’s why their third album, Follow the Leader, is an effective follow-up to their first two alt-metal landmarks. Not that it offers anything new — it’s the same sound, offered in a more focused forum than Life Is Peachy, but not sounding as fresh as Korn. In fact, it begins to wear a little thin toward the end of the album, but guitarists Head Welch and Munky Shaffer find enough tonal variations over the course of the album to keep it interesting, and vocalist Jonathan Davis nearly matches them with his cavalcade of voices. If the songs themselves don’t leave much of an impression, it’s because they’re not supposed to — they’re simply vehicles for the metallic grind, which provides all the visceral rush any Korn fan needs. -AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 It’s On! 04:28
2 Freak On a Leash 04:15
3 Got the Life 03:48
4 Dead Bodies Everywhere 04:44
5 Children of the Korn 03:52
6 B.B.K. 03:56
7 Pretty 04:12
8 All In the Family 04:48
9 Reclaim My Place 04:32
10 Justin 04:17
11 Seed 05:54
12 Cameltosis 04:38
13 My Gift to You 07:14
14 Earache My Eye 05:06

Jonathan Davis – vocals, bagpipes
Head – guitar
Munky – guitar
Fieldy – bass guitar
David Silveria – drums

Fred Durst, Tre Hardson, Ice Cube, Cheech Marin – vocals