Kohsuke Mine Quintet – Daguri (1973/2017) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Kohsuke Mine Quintet – Daguri (1973/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 41:57 minutes | 916 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Victor Records

A high-energy, modal/spiritual, face-melter of a jazz record that packs a mighty wallop. Fans of McCoy Tyner’s early 70s Milestone records will go bonkers over this. Kohsuke Mine handles both tenor and soprano sax and is the composer of all five mid-to-long tracks on ‘Daguri’. He’s joined by Hideo Miyata (tenor sax), Fumio Itabashi (piano), Hideaki Mochizuki (bass) and Hiroshi Murakami (drums). The opening track is molten intensity, as the saxes and piano intertwine and build the tension, somehow digging the groove deeper while soaring higher. They dare one another to keep up and the challenge is accepted as each peak is reached and transcended. The drum and piano work throughout moves from intricate to manic to hyperactive—the first track alone will leave you breathless and reaching for another coffee. But the instrumental verbosity never steps on the tunefulness…groove, swing, and virtuosity co-exist in ideal proportions on every track. There’s only one tune, “Self Contradiction” that’s on the downtempo side. Otherwise, you should set the gearshift for the high gear of your soul!

1. Thirsty (10:51)
2. Self-Contradiction (04:35)
3. Daguri (06:25)
4. Expectation (12:00)
5. Spin Drift (08:04)