King’s College Cambridge – Proud Songsters: English Solo Song (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

King’s College Cambridge – Proud Songsters: English Solo Song (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:01:33 minutes | 1,04 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Kings College Cambridge

“Proud Songsters” is a journey through the distinctive musical genre of English Song. This collection of twenty songs – familiar and lesser known – are performed by some of the finest former members of the Choir of King’s College, Cambridge with one of this generation’s most exceptional pianists. Each of the nine alumni featured on this album sang as young adults at King’s, alongside pianist Simon Lepper, an other graduate of King’s.

The songs included on the album span settings of Shakespeare songs, those of prominent 20th century composers like Vaughan Williams, Britten, Finzi, Clarke and Howells through to contemporary works by Jonathan Dove, Iain Bell and Celia Harper.

01. To Gratiana Dancing and Singing
02. The Salley Gardens (Arr. Benjamin Britten)
03. Linden Lea
04. A Young Man’s Exhortation: VII. The Sigh
05. My love gave me an apple
06. Five Shakespeare Songs, Op. 23: I. Fear no more the heat o’ the sun
07. Come to me in my dreams
08. I wandered lonely as a cloud
09. All You Who Sleep Tonight: VII. God’s love
10. All You Who Sleep Tonight: XII. Soon
11. All You Who Sleep Tonight: XIII. All you who sleep tonight
12. The Seal Man
13. I will go with my father a-ploughing
14. Earth and Air and Rain: X. Proud Songsters
15. King David
16. The Holy Sonnets of John Donne: VI. Since she whom I loved
17. Sleep
18. These Motley Fools: II. Feste (Come away, death)
19. Five English Love Lyrics: III. Go, lovely rose
20. The House of Life: II. Silent Noon