King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Chunky Shrapnel (2020) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Chunky Shrapnel (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/48kHz | Time – 01:16:13 minutes | 939 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © KGLW

This double-LP live album features 13 live performances hand-picked from the band’s 2019 European tour and includes a musical score written by Stu Mackenzie that adds a ‘magical touch of alien melancholy’ throughout the record. Chunky Shrapnel is an adrenaline fueled psychedelic trip that captures the energy of a live concert while also creating something tailored and unique to King Gizzard.

The band has also announced a feature-length motion picture by the same name that follows King Gizzard’s adrenaline-inducing onstage performances from the perspective of the band. The film is accompanied by a double LP featuring the music from the film, which was recorded throughout the band’s 2019 European tour.

Needless to say, they’re one of the best garage bands of our time. The wacky King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard have captured fans all over the world with their explosive live performances and have released fifteen albums in just eight years. Australian musicians Stu McKenzie, Ambrose Kenny-Smith, Lucas Harwood, Cook Craig, Joey Walker, Michael Cavanagh and Eric Moore have also shown us their commitment to the environment through their music, whether they’re on stage or the studio. Here they are in a carefully selected compilation of live performances from the European tour of their album, Infest The Rats’ Nest, in 2019, entering into a trance during their many improvisations. They go from jazz jams (The River) and rough punk (Hell) to heavy (Road Train) and melancholic (Let Me Mend The Past), and even a barrage of effects (Wah Wah), yet the King Gizzards have ensured that this album doesn’t just sound like a chaotic succession of tracks as each one follows on from the last smoothly to form one coherent whole. Chunky Shrapnel shares the same cryptic name as the film they made whilst on tour directed by John Angus Stewart and also has a compelling storytelling concept with a narrative running through it. Among the 16 tracks, three new reflections on today’s world have also been added, namely Evil, Quarantine and Anamnesis, which serve as contemplative instrumental interludes. The album culminates with A Brief History Of Planet Earth, a climactic epilogue in the style of 70’s psyche-blues in which Ambrose Kenny Smith pulls out all the stops on harmonica whilst McKenzie does his thing shouting to the crowd. A breath of fresh air (or sweat) during this stifling period. – Charlotte Saintoin

1. Evil Star (02:10)
2. The River (Live in Luxembourg ’19) (09:39)
3. Wah Wah (live in Madrid ’19) (03:24)
4. Road Train (live in Manchester ’19) (03:39)
5. Murder of the Universe (live in Utrecht ’19) (05:04)
6. Quarantine (02:01)
7. Planet B (live in London ’19) (06:03)
8. Parking (live in Brussels ’19) (02:03)
9. Venusian 2 (live in Milan ’19) (03:11)
10. Hell (live in Milan ’19) (03:37)
11. Let Me Mend The Past (live in Madrid ’19) (02:58)
12. Anamnesis (03:10)
13. Inner Cell (live in Utrecht ’19) (03:50)
14. Loyalty (live in Utrecht ’19) (03:53)
15. Horology (live in Utrecht ’19) (02:36)
16. A Brief History of Planet Earth (live in London, Berlin, Utrecht and Barcelona ’19) (19:04)