Kevin Eubanks – East West Time Line (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Kevin Eubanks – East West Time Line (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:03:02 minutes | 659 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Mack Avenue Records

The gifted American guitarist draws out the fine lines between contemporary East and West Coast jazz with two equally emotive bands. The East Coast ensemble, featuring Nicholas Payton on trumpet and the energetic fizz of Jeff “Tain” Watts drumming, presents five Eubanks compositions ranging from the potent to the elegiac. The West Coast group, featuring saxophonist Bill Pierce as lead and Mino Cinelu on percussion, delivers five expertly reshaped covers spanning Ellington and Marvin Gaye. The East is funkier, the West more Latinate, and the playing exceptional throughout.

Joining guitarist Kevin Eubanks on this stellar outing are two groups, one representing West Coast musicians, the other comprising East Coasters. Longtime collaborator and former Berklee College of Music classmate Marvin “Smitty” Smith propels the West Coast outfit from the drum kit, alongside seasoned bassist Rene Camacho, percussionist Mino Cinelu and saxophonist Bill Pierce. Smith’s East Coast counterpart on this bicoastal project is the irrepressibly swinging Jeff “Tain” Watts, who combines with bassist Dave Holland, pianist Orrin Evans and New York trumpeter Nicholas Payton to create a potent lineup. Together, all these great players bring out the best in Eubanks’s six string prowess and ignite his searching instincts throughout the sessions in Los Angeles and New York.

01 – Time Line
02 – Watercolors
03 – Poet
04 – Carnival
05 – Something About Nothing
06 – Take the Coltrane
07 – Captain Señor Mouse
08 – Cubano Chant
09 – What’s Going On
10 – My One and Only Love