Kate Westbrook – Earth Felt the Wound (2020) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Kate Westbrook – Earth Felt the Wound (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 56:26 minutes | 647 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Westbrook Records

b. Kate Barnard, Guildford, Surrey, England. Westbrook initially studied as a painter, exhibiting in the UK, Europe and the USA, before joining her future husband in the Mike Westbrook Brass Band (1974). Self-taught as a musician she sings and plays a variety of wind instruments, as well as composing and writing lyrics for many of Mike Westbrook’s groups. Independently, she was a guest soloist with the RAI Orchestra in Rome and the Zurich Radio Orchestra during the 70s, and in the 80s worked on projects with Lindsay Cooper. She sings in French, German, Greek and Italian and has performed from the works of poets and songwriters as diverse as D.H. Lawrence, William Blake, Cole Porter, Rossini and Lorca. In conjunction with Mike Westbrook, she organized many multi-media events involving music, performance and painting, which have been performed on television and the theatre. With such a wide variety of experience it is hardly surprising that she has complained: ‘I think we’ve got some way to go before there’s an understanding in the musical world of this thing greater than any category: music’.


01. The Streams of Lovely Lucienne
02. Threat of Natural Disaster
03. Big Baby Hips
04. Menace de catastrophe naturelle
05. Drowned in the Flood
06. Weltende Begins
07. Weltende
08. Bathing Belles and Fiscal Analysts
09. Let’s Face the Music and Dance
10. Storm Petrel
11. Once Upon a Time
12. Rooster Rabelais