Karine Polwart – Still as Your Sleeping (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Karine Polwart – Still as Your Sleeping (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 43:32 minutes | 414 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Hudson Records

Multi-award-winning Scottish folksinger, songwriter and storyteller, Karine Polwart & pianist and composer, Dave Milligan present ‘Still As Your Sleeping’ – an intimate and elegant 10 track collaborative album recorded in Pencaitland, East Lothian during summer 2021.

Karine Polwart’s previous solo release, 2019’s Karine Polwart’s Scottish Songbook reached the UK Top 40 album charts, and toured major UK venues, including The Barbican in London and The Usher Hall in Edinburgh. Dave Milligan is a renowned Scottish jazz pianist, improviser and composer, whose writing and arranging often distils folk and traditional influences. His creativity and versatility has secured him musical director and band leader roles for many large-scale collaborative projects.

Karine and Dave’s 10 track album ‘Still As Your Sleeping’ is threaded through with images of stillness and flux, leaving and returning, and pivots of change. The album includes the timeless and poignant ‘The Parting Glass’ as requested by Margaret Atwood for her specially curated BBC Radio 4 Today programme in December 2020.

“One voice and one piano can hold a lot of space, a lot of feeling”, says Polwart. “Some of these songs are brand new, whilst others have been on my tongue for two decades and more, which is as long as I’ve known Dave”.

Both musicians live in the same Midlothian village of Pathhead, as does Jenni Douglas, who created the album’s gorgeous, evocative artwork.

01. Karine Polwart – Craigie Hill
02. Karine Polwart – Heaven’s Hound
03. Karine Polwart – The Path That Winds Before Us
04. Karine Polwart – The Parting Glass
05. Karine Polwart – The Old Men of the Shells
06. Karine Polwart – The Quiet Joys of Brotherhood
07. Karine Polwart – Siccar Point
08. Karine Polwart – Talk to Me of Mendocino
09. Karine Polwart – Travel These Ways
10. Karine Polwart – Ae Fond Kiss