Karen Cargill – Fleur de mon ame (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Karen Cargill – Fleur de mon ame (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 59:33 minutes | 1,09 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Linn Records

Following their Linn debut, a “breathtaking album of songs by Gustav and Alma Mahler” (The Herald), Karen Cargill and Simon Lepper return to fin-de-si`ecle Europe for a recital of songs by the “cr`eme de la cr`eme” of late nineteenth-century French speaking composers. Entitled “Fleur de mon ^ame”, the album embraces the sensual soundworld of Hahn, Debussy, Chausson, Jongen and Duparc.

The album opens with `A Chloris which recalls the elegance of the seventeenth century before borrowing from the poetry of Ancient Greece in Chansons de Bilitis and setting sail on a calm sea with Chausson’s S’er’enade italienne. Guest soloists from the Royal Scottish National Orchestra add orchestral colour to Chausson’s Chanson perp’etuelle and Calmes, aux quais d’eserts by lesser-known Belgian composer Joseph Jongen. The compelling romanticism of Duparc’s songs complete this bouquet of soul-searching French m’elodies.

01. Karen Cargill – `A Chloris
02. Karen Cargill – Le rossignol des lilas
03. Karen Cargill – L”enamour’ee
04. Karen Cargill – Infid’elit’e
05. Karen Cargill – Les fontaines
06. Karen Cargill – I. La fl^ute de Pan
07. Karen Cargill – II. La chevelure
08. Karen Cargill – III. Le tombeau des na”iades
09. Karen Cargill – Calmes, aux quais d’eserts, Op. 54
10. Karen Cargill – Chanson perp’etuelle, Op. 37
11. Karen Cargill – S’er’enade italienne, Op. 2 No. 5
12. Karen Cargill – Le charme, Op. 2 No. 2
13. Karen Cargill – Le colibri, Op. 2 No. 7
14. Karen Cargill – Les papillons, Op. 2 No. 3
15. Karen Cargill – L’invitation au voyage
16. Karen Cargill – Chanson triste
17. Karen Cargill – Extase
18. Karen Cargill – Phidyl’e