Justin Taylor – Continuum (Scarlatti – Ligeti) (2018) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Justin Taylor – Continuum (Scarlatti – Ligeti) (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:09:09 minutes | 2,5 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Alpha

It was when he heard a harpsichordist playing for the students at the university in his home town of Angers that Justin Taylor first discovered this instrument and its intriguing sound. He split his time between the piano and a harpsichord apprenticeship that he took with Olivier Beaumont and Blandine Rannou, also following masterclasses from Skip Sempé and Pierre Hantaï. What followed was a modern fairytale. The young man made furious progress, swiftly becoming a poster boy for the French harpsichord, winning the Bruges Competition and being named the musical “Revelation” of 2017, at the age of 23. A first album, dedicated to the Family Forqueray (Alpha, Qobuzissime) was showered in plaudits and soon followed by a number of concerts at prestigious festivals, which seem not to have remotely changed this young Franco-American. For his second project with Alpha Classics, Justin Taylor deftly blends Scarlatti with Ligeti, a composer he knows well, having played his formidable Continuum at the admission competition for the Conservatoire de Paris (CNSMD). In this new album, Scarlatti’s harmonic daring joins a György Ligeti fascinated by the work of his distant Neapolitan colleague. The result is a real firework, lit and aimed by ten fingers which are as intelligent as they are fiendish – this artist is absolutely one to watch. – François Hudry

1. Sonata in D Minor, K.141 (Allegro) 03:48
2. Sonata in D Minor, K.32 (Aria) 02:19
3. Sonata in C Minor, K.115 (Allegro) 06:01
4. Passacaglia ungherese 04:37
5. Sonata in D Minor, K.18 (Presto) 03:52
6. Sonata in A Major, K.208 (Adagio e cantabile) 04:54
7. Sonata in A Minor, K.175 (Allegro) 03:40
8. Hungarian Rock (Chaconne) 05:07
9. Sonata in D Major, K.492 (Presto) 03:44
10. Sonata in B Minor, K.27 (Allegro) 03:23
11. Sonata in D Minor, K.213 (Andante) 09:14
12. Sonata in F Minor, K.239 (Allegro) 03:10
13. Sonata in F Minor, K.519 (Allegro Assai) 02:54
14. Continuum 04:26
15 .Sonata in F Minor, K.481 (Andante e cantabile) 08:00

Ligeti, György (1923-2006)
Scarlatti, Domenico (1685-1757)

Justin Taylor (harpsichord)