Julian Bliss Septet – A Tribute to Benny Goodman (2012) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Julian Bliss Septet – A Tribute to Benny Goodman (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 49:55 minutes | 503 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Signum Records

Recreating the exciting sound of swing from the 30’s and 40’s, Julian Bliss’s dynamic virtuosity leads his sextet through some of the great tunes of the swing era, staying true to the authentic feel but naturally with a modern twist.

Julian Bliss says: “I decided in the summer of 2010 that I wanted to start my own Jazz group. I enlisted the help of Neal Thornton (Piano) to help make this dream a reality. We spent months listening to every version of each tune we could find, and putting together our own versions while still being mindful of the light and fun feel Goodman captured all those years ago. We then had the task of putting the rest of the band together. We were specifically looking for musicians that had a great interest in the Swing era, and I must say we couldn’t have picked a better set of players.”


1. Don’t Be That Way / Stompin’ At the Savoy
2. Caprice No.24
3. Up a Lazy River
4. The World Is Waiting for the Sunrise
5. Moonglow
6. Lady Be Good (Rifftide)
7. Seven Come Eleven
8. Here’s That Rainy Day
9. Sheik of Araby
10. Goodbye
11. Avalon
12. Soft Winds
13. After You’ve Gone

Julian Bliss clarinet
Neal Thornton piano
Martin Shaw trumpet
Colin Oxley guitar
Tim Thornton bass
Matt Skelton drums
Jim Hart vibes