Julia Hulsmann Quartet – A Clear Midnight (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHhz]

Julia Hulsmann Quartet & Theo Bleckmann – A Clear Midnight / Kurt Weill And America (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:07:58 minutes | 1,39 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download |  Source: Qobuz | @ ECM Records GmbH
Recorded: June 2014 at Rainbow Studio, Oslo

Pianist Julia Hülsmann and singer Theo Bleckmann, in a first – and long-awaited – collaborative recording, celebrate the “unsung Weill” alongside the master’s best-loved works including “Mack The Knife”, “Speak Low” and “September Song”, adding also Julia’s settings of Walt Whitman, with whom Kurt Weill felt an affinity. The project came together at the instigation of the Kurt Weill Festival in Dessau in 2013 and since then has gained new life on the road and been fine-tuned in this studio recording made in Oslo in June 2014 with Manfred Eicher as producer. It marks a musical advance for the Hülsmann group at a number of levels, and these recastings of Weill open up new imaginative possibilities for the players. English trumpeter and flugelhornist Tom Arthurs, who made his debut with Hülsmann on In Full View is fully integrated on A Clear Midnight. Often his trumpet doubles or underpins Bleckmann’s singing, giving a new colour to the vocals. As for Theo Bleckmann, this is the sensitive vocalist’s first ECM appearance as a jazz singer, although he has recorded twice for the label as a member of the Meredith Monk ensemble on “Mercy” and “Impermanence”.

1. Mack the Knife 04:31
2. Alabama Song 04:07
3. Your Technique 04:53
4. September Song 06:50
5. This Is New 05:32
6. River Chanty 04:49
7. A Clear Midnight 05:47
8. A Noisless Patient Spider 07:03
9. Beat! Beat! Drums! 04:19
10. Little Tin God 06:38
11. Speak Low 08:51
12. Great Big Sky 04:46

Theo Bleckmann, vocals
Julia Hülsmann, piano
Tom Arthurs, trumpet, flugelhorn
Marc Muellbauer, double bass
Heinrich Köbberling, drums