Judas Priest – Redeemer of Souls {Deluxe Edition} (2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Judas Priest – Redeemer of Souls (2014) [Deluxe Edition]
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 83:46 minutes | 1,03 GB | Genre: Rock, Metal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks.com | Front cover | Label: Columbia

To be released in the US on July 15th, 2014 via Epic Records (as a standard version and a deluxe edition with five bonus tracks), ‘Redeemer of Souls’ is Judas Priest’s latest collection of epic metal – “raising the bar is consistent for us and ‘Redeemer’ hits the ground running” – it matches up perfectly to earlier Priest classics as evidenced by the album’s leadoff single ‘March of the Damned’ – the band mean business once again.

“Welcome to my world of steel” sneers Rob Halford on the punchy, surprisingly spartan “Dragonaut,” the opening salvo of the venerable New Wave of British Heavy Metal legends’ 17th studio long-player, and their first outing without founding guitarist K.K. Downing, who left the group in 2011. The antithesis to 2008’s overblown Nostradamus, Redeemer of Souls feels quaint in comparison, eschewing the largely fantasy-driven conceptual style of the ambitious, yet undeniably cumbersome, two-disc set in favor of a more refined, classic rock approach that edges closer to the group’s late-’70s offerings like Sin After Sin and Stained Class. New guitarist Richie Faulkner, with his golden mane and tight, controlled riffing, suggests a wax Downing just sprung to life and simply walked out of Madam Tussaud’s museum and into the band’s rehearsal space, and his tasteful, yet undeniably meaty playing alongside Glenn Tipton goes a long way in helping to restore some of the classic Judas Priest luster, especially on standout cuts like the aforementioned “Dragonaut,” the nervy and propulsive “Metalizer,” and the rousing title track. Still, this is a band that’s well into its fifth decade of being “Hell Bent for Leather”; they’ve explored, both successfully and occasionally at great cost, nearly every shadowy nook and suspicious looking crevice of the genre, and the album’s stalwart yet shopworn 13 tracks reflect that journey. That said, Redeemer of Souls is also the loosest (attitude-wise), leanest (arrangement-wise), and most confident-sounding collection of new material the band has released in ages, and while it will forever tread beneath high-water marks like British Steel and Sad Wings of Destiny, it most certainly deserves to be ranked alongside albums from that era.

01 – Dragonaut
02 – Redeemer Of Souls
03 – Halls Of Valhalla
04 – Sword Of Damocles
05 – March Of The Damned
06 – Down In Flames
07 – Hell & Back
08 – Cold Blooded
09 – Metalizer
10 – Crossfire
11 – Secrets Of The Dead
12 – Battle Cry
13 – Beginning Of The End
14 – Snakebite [Bonus Track]15 – Tears Of Blood [Bonus Track]16 – Creatures [Bonus Track]17 – Bring It On [Bonus Track]18 – Never Forget [Bonus Track]

Produced and mixed by Mike Exeter and Glenn Tipton.
Mastered by Dick Beetham.

Rob Halford – vocals
Glenn Tipton – guitar, synthesizer
Richie Faulkner – guitar
Ian Hill – bass guitar
Scott Travis – drums