Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers – L.A.M.F. (The Lost ’77 Mixes) {40th Ann Remaster 2017} [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers – L.A.M.F. (The Lost ’77 Mixes) {40th Ann Remaster 2017}
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 Hz  | Time – 40:22 minutes | 477 MB | Genre: Rock, Punk, New Wave
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | ©  Jungle Records

The Heartbreakers’ “L.A.M.F. (Like A Mother Fucker)” is hailed as one of the classic punk albums. Formed by New York Dolls’ Johnny Thunders and Jerry Nolan in 1975, they influenced the UK punk scene, joining The Sex Pistols, The Damned and The Sex Pistols on the infamous Anarchy Tour. L.A.M.F. was released on Track Records in 1977 to much acclaim, but was marred by a muddy sound, caused by a mastering fault. In ’94 Jungle found long-lost original, mud-free sessions and re-compiled the album. Now it reissued in a digital form and subtitled as “40th Anniversary Remaster”.

Borrowing inspiration from his old band, the New York Dolls, along with Chuck Berry, Keith Richards, the Ramones, and heroin, Thunders & the Heartbreakers’ junkie antics translate well to disc. Songs like “One Track Mind,” “Chinese Rocks,” and “Pirate Love” are great examples of these influences. Although the Heartbreakers were not as lyrically intuitive as ex-member Richard Hell or Television, the music here is the key. Jerry Nolan’s steady beats, and Thunders’ searing guitar show that the Heartbreakers were no lightweights.

01 – Born To Lose
02 – Baby Talk
03 – All By Myself
04 – I Wanna Be Loved
05 – It’s Not Enough
06 – Chinese Rocks
07 – Get Off The Phone
08 – Pirate Love
09 – One Track Mind
10 – I Love You
11 – Goin’ Steady
12 – Let Go
13 – Can’t Keep My Eyes On You
14 – Do You Love Me