John Denver – Aerie (1971/2017) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

John Denver – Aerie (1971/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 39:08 minutes | 406 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RCA – Legacy

Aerie reached #75 on the Billboard charts when originally issued in 1971 on RCA Records. Take Me To Tomorrow hit the Billboard charts in 1970, originally issued on RCA Records Whose Garden Was This was originally issued on RCA Records in 1970.

Listeners acquainted with the John Denver of “Rocky Mountain High” and “Sunshine on My Shoulders” may be surprised to discover a slightly more gritty folkster in some of these album cuts. Kris Kristofferson’s “Casey’s Last Ride” is delivered as a spare, ghostly lament, while “She Won’t Let Me Fly Away” has a bluesy, urban feel. “Readjustment Blues” is a sobering account of the unwelcome treatment experienced by soldiers returning home from the Vietnam War, and is highlighted by Paul Griffin’s haunting organ playing. However, Denver’s trademark uplifting nature-oriented songs make up a good half of the tracks. The soaring “The Eagle and the Hawk,” in fact, is the centerpiece of the album. Though it’s a less well-known work in his oeuvre, Aerie is worth seeking out to get a more complete picture of the artist’s range. ~ Rob Caldwell

01. Starwood in Aspen 03:08
02. Everyday 03:17
03. Casey’s Last Ride 04:58
04. City of New Orleans 03:20
05. Friends with You 03:26
06. 60 Second Song for a Bank, with the Phrase “May We Help You Today?” 01:12
07. Blow up Your TV (Spanish Pipe Dream) 02:23
08. All of My Memories 05:00
09. She Won’t Let Me Fly Away 03:45
10. Readjustment Blues 04:55
11. The Eagle and the Hawk 02:06
12. Tools 01:38

John Denver, guitar, vocals
Eric Weissberg, banjo, fiddle, guitar
Paul Griffin, keyboards
Mike Taylor, guitar
Toots Thielemans, harmonica
George Marge, woodwind
Richard Kniss, bass
Gary Chester, drums
Paul Prestopino, banjo, dobro, guitar
Al Rogers, percussion
Paula Ballan, vocals
Diane Kniss, vocals
Kenneth Boaz, vocals
Turnpike Tom, vocals
Alec White, vocals
Mary Angela White, vocals
Barbara Carlson, vocals
Andromeda Quasar, vocals
Bill Danoff, vocals
Keith Lane, vocals
Candy Ledbetter, vocals
Ron Ledbetter, vocals
Elizabeth Lindsay, vocals
Steve Mandell, vocals
Anne Denver, vocals
Taffy Nivert, vocals

Produced by Milton Okun

Digitally remastered