Joe Farnsworth – City of Sounds (2021) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Joe Farnsworth – City of Sounds (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/48kHz | Time – 54:02 minutes | 679 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Smoke Sessions

Prior to the events of 2020, it may have been easy to take New York City’s thriving and diverse music scene for granted. But when clubs went dark and an unsettling silence descended on the metropolis, it served as a stark reminder of just how vitally important it is to keep the music alive. Drummer Joe Farnsworth determined to do just that, and remained a stalwart jazz warrior throughout the pandemic. His celebratory new album, City of Sounds, is both a testament to his efforts and a heartfelt tribute to the musical melting pot he’s called home for more than three decades.

Due out October 1 via Smoke Sessions Records, City of Sounds was captured onstage at Smoke Jazz & Supper Club with a superb trio featuring legendary pianist Kenny Barron and bass titan Peter Washington. The three are reunited from Farnsworth’s Smoke Sessions debut, Time To Swing, which also included Wynton Marsalis in the line-up. Here Farnsworth sticks to the core trio, a format in which he’s thrived throughout his storied career – including collaborations with McCoy Tyner, Cedar Walton, Harold Mabern, Hank Jones, David Hazeltine and ELEW, among many others.

“I’ve learned so much from this city,” Farnsworth declares. “Then the city got rocked, so I wanted to try to give back. One of the ways I could do that was by staying here and playing whenever and however I could to keep the sounds alive.”

The performance represented by City of Sounds is just one example of that effort. A thrilling live concert from Farnsworth’s birthday week in February 2021, it bears the traces of the strange period we’re just now emerging from, with musicians in masks and separated by plastic barriers, playing to an empty club for an audience of virtual listeners streaming the music live at home.

01. Joe Farnsworth – New York Attitude
02. Joe Farnsworth – The Surrey with the Fringe on Top
03. Joe Farnsworth – Ojos Cari~nosos
04. Joe Farnsworth – Bud-Like
05. Joe Farnsworth – Moonlight in Vermont
06. Joe Farnsworth – City of Sounds
07. Joe Farnsworth – No Fills
08. Joe Farnsworth – Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise