Joe Beck & Red Mitchell – Empathy (1980/2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Joe Beck & Red Mitchell – Empathy (1980/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:28:30 minutes | 1,44 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Gryphon Records

This nearly 90-minute set featuring Joe Beck and Red Mitchell comes from a 1980 performance at the legendary New York nightclub Bradley’s. Without rehearsal or anything in the way of preplanning, the guitarist and the bassist intuitively work their way through a mixture of time-tested standards and jazz classics, coming as close to musical perfection as is possible. Carl Perkins’ “Grooveyard” is played softly rather than in its typical hard bop setting, while the swing classic “Soft Winds” retains only a hint of the original chord changes, taking on a more bluesy flavor in their adventurous take. Johnny Mandel’s lovely ballad “Emily” seems forever associated with Bill Evans, though this compelling take makes its own mark. Three gems by Jimmy Van Heusen are included, including a lyrical “Polka Dots and Moonbeams,” a fluid “Like Someone in Love,” and an intricate “Darn That Dream.”

01. Groove Yard
02. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
03. Like Someone in Love
04. Soft Winds
05. Someday My Prince Will Come
06. Things We Did Last Summer
07. Whisper Not
08. Emily
09. Juanabara
10. Darn That Dream
11. Autumn Leaves
12. ‘Round Midnight