Joe Beck & Ali Ryerson – Django (2001) {SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz}

Joe Beck & Ali Ryerson – Django (2001)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 55:36 minutes | Scans included | 3,42 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,01 GB
Features Stereo & Multichannel Surround Sound | Genre: Jazz

Joe Beck and Ali Ryerson have been working as a team for more than four years, playing concerts and other gigs under the name Duo. This is their second album, and, with the name Django, one would assume it is in honor of guitarist Django Reinhardt. Instead, the set is dedicated to the members of the Modern Jazz Quartet, who pioneered chamber jazz, the style that dominates this session with flautist Ryerson. John Lewis’ “Django” is one of the tunes on the agenda that they play within the chamber style. Ryerson’s passion for Brazilian music is documented on her six albums for Concord Jazz. She gets to show her mastery of this tempo on “Carioca Blue” and “O Barquinho.” Jazz veteran Joe Beck, one of the first to mix jazz and rock guitar, uses an alto guitar which he invented. It provides a strong harmonically mellow and rhythmic cushion upon which Ryerson carries the melody line with her expressive, buoyant flute. Their mutual comfort is evident on such tunes as the medley “Come Together”/”Alone Together” and expresses itself on a haunting rendition of “Tenderly.” If anything, this album is epitomized by some striking improvising. The two generally take one chorus, stating the melody, and then let their collective imagination take over. That they play together rather than separately when they extemporize makes this album distinctive. And they do it successfully whether the tune be one by Miles Davis or Johnny Mercer. With just the two instruments, their inventive way of collaborating makes sure that the listener’s attention will not drift away. Recommended.

01. People Make the World Go ‘Round
02. Laura
03. Django
04. Carioca
05. When I Fall In Love
06. Spain
07. Come Together/Alone Together
08. Tenderly
09. Hobo
10. It Takes Two
11. Barquino
12. Nardis
13. Danny Boy

Joe Beck – guitar
Ali Ryerson – flute

Pure DSD Recording
Recorded by Tom Jung at Ambient Recording, Stamford, CT. on February 10, 2001
Mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering.



FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz