Joan Baez – Whistle Down the Wind (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Joan Baez – Whistle Down the Wind (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 38:58 minutes | 786 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Proper Records

After a decade of discographic silence, the high priestess of folk comes out of her reservation to remind us of the aura and uniqueness of her voice. It is a necessary inner cry in respect of the still troubled times that is Trump’s America. The engaged artist that she has always been had to express herself, again and again, on her favorite themes. Time has admittedly left a mark on her singing, but not on the intensity of the performances that Joan Baez offers here of songs penned by Tom Waits, Josh Ritter, Anohi, Mary Chapin Carpenter and Joe Henry, who is also the disc’s producer. This is incidentally in her ability to appropriate other’s writings that always fascinated people. And when she revisits The President Sang Amazing Grace, that Zoe Mulford had composed after the Charleston church shooting in June 2015, the emotion is more than intense.

1. Whistle Down the Wind (4:49)
2. Be of Good Heart (4:02)
3. Another World (2:57)
4. Civil War (4:22)
5. The Things That We Are Made Of (5:10)
6. The President Sang Amazing Grace (3:20)
7. Last Leaf (3:05)
8. Silver Blade (3:55)
9. The Great Correction (3:43)
10. I Wish the Wars Were All Over (3:35)