Jim Snidero – Strings (2003/2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Jim Snidero – Strings (2003/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 55:45 minutes | 591 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Savant

Altoist Jim Snidero is the main soloist throughout this showcase, backed by ten strings (including violinist Mark Feldman) and assisted by pianist Renee Rosnes. Snidero did all of the arranging and contributed six of the pieces, including his three-part “River Suite.” Although there are variations in the tempos, Snidero is at his best on ballads where his lyrical style and attractive sound are well-featured. The strings are integrated well into the music, the melodies are generally strong, and Jim Snidero balances a style influenced a little by Sonny Stitt with some post-bop improvising. This is one of his finest recordings to date. – Scott Yanow

1. Slipping Away (04:59)
2. River Suite, Pt. 1: Dawn (07:04)
3. River Suite, Pt. 2: On the Bank (07:39)
4. River Suite, Pt. 3: Torrent (05:11)
5. Theme for Ernie (07:14)
6. Forever Gone (09:33)
7. Ventura (07:01)
8. It’s the Talk of the Town (07:04)