Jim Ed Brown – She’s Leavin’ (1971/2021) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Jim Ed Brown – She’s Leavin’ (1971/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/192kHz | Time – 28:40 minutes | 1,26 GB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RCA – Legacy

She’s Leavin’ is from Jim Ed Brown’s solo period between the end of the Browns and the beginning of his successful partnership with Helen Cornelius. The title track, which borrows the “Auld Lang Syne” gimmick from the G-Clefs’ 1961 hit “I Understand (Just How You Feel),” barely cracked the country Top 40 in 1971. The leadoff track, “Summerset,” is a wistful beauty that should have been a hit and stands out as the album’s highlight. The remainder is given over to love ballads old and new, from Cindy Walker’s classic “Not As a Sweetheart (But Just As a Friend)” to Kris Kristofferson’s “Help Me Make It Through the Night.” Reinforcing the album’s contemporary vibe, two songs come from Kristofferson’s pen, and Freddie Hart’s “Easy Lovin’” – which must have been recorded while it was still on the charts – closes the set. One might wish for more original material, but Brown has a beautiful voice that seldom disappoints. – Greg Adams

01 – Summerset (00:03:30)
02 – Not as a Sweetheart (But Just as a Friend) (00:03:04)
03 – Will I Ever Stop Loving You (00:02:39)
04 – Love Is Worth the Tryin’ (00:02:33)
05 – Help Me Make It Throught the Night (00:02:27)
06 – She’s Leavin’ (Bonnie, Please Don’t Go) (00:03:39)
07 – I Won’t Mention It Again (00:03:37)
08 – I’d Rather Be Sorry (00:02:25)
09 – You Never Said You Loved Me (00:02:17)
10 – Easy Loving (00:02:29)