Jim Bob – Who Do We Hate Today? (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Jim Bob – Who Do We Hate Today? (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 36:35 minutes | 403 MB | Genre: Alternative Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Cherry Red Records

After releasing no new music for almost a decade, singer-songwriter Jim Bob has announced his second album in a year. It’s another silver-tongued snapshot of modern life in Britain from the singer-songwriter, musician and author.

Following 2020’s critically acclaimed, chart smashing, hiatus breaking ‘Pop Up Jim Bob’ album, the artist formerly known as Jim Bob from Carter USM is back with his second album in as many years. ‘Who Do We Hate Today’ is another silver-tongued snapshot of modern life in Britain from the singer-songwriter, musician and author. Jim’s new record reflects on everything from the end of the world and social distancing, to key workers, lonely elephants and living in fear of a random attack. Recorded in South London with The Hoodrats, Jim uses thirteen tracks and thirty-seven minutes to bring us new songs as catchy as they are contrasting.

“Who Do We Hate Today? was recorded by Jim Bob in a local studio during lockdown and gives a series of vignettes and snapshots of what has been happening in his world and the world at large in the last several months. Reflecting empty streets, mad social media comments from “old rock stars from the 1990’s” and toxic masculinity, the album includes the trademark samples, witty lyrics and programmed synthesiser backing Carter fans were used to.”

“To say this album is an anxious ride would be to misrepresent the author’s intent, as it possesses more than its fair share of humorous moments. From “Shona is Dating a Drunk, Woman Hating Neanderthal Man” where Jim paints a picture sometimes represented in Red-top headlines, to “Where’s the Backdoor, Steve” in which the question is asked “…where’d you put the reset Steve?…”. I don’t think any of us have the answer to this question, but at the moment it looks like we’re heading toward a turning off and on again scenario, but just to add I can’t get its melody out of my head.”

1. Jim’s Bed Of Unease (Intro) (00:21)
2. The Earth Bleeds Out (01:18)
3. Shona Is Dating A Drunk, Woman Hating Neanderthal Man (03:19)
4. #prayfortony (02:16)
5. Where’s The Backdoor, Steve? (02:19)
6. Karen (Is Thinking Of Changing Her Name) (03:05)
7. A Random Act (06:01)
8. The Summer Of No Touching (02:56)
9. Song For The Unsung (You’re So Modest You’ll Never Think This Song Is About You) (04:15)
10. Men (02:41)
11. Evan Knows The Sirens (02:29)
12. The Loneliest Elephant In The World (04:27)
13. Who Do We Hate Today? (01:08)