Jethro Tull – Stand Up (Steven Wilson Remix) (1969/2017) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Jethro Tull – Stand Up (Steven Wilson Remix) (1969/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:01:37 minutes | 1,2 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © Rhino

Jethro Tull s second album, Stand Up, marked an early turning point for the band with the addition of guitarist Martin Barre along with Ian Anderson s introduction of folk-rock influences to the group s blues-based sound. Released in the summer of 1969, Stand Up rose quickly to the top of the U.K. Albums Chart, and eventually earned gold certification in the U.S.

The group’s second album, with Anderson (vocals, flute, acoustic guitars, keyboards, balalaika), Martin Barre (electric guitar, flute), Clive Bunker (drums), and Glen Cornick (bass), solidified the group’s sound. There is still an element of blues, but except for “A New Day Yesterday,” it is far more muted than on their first album, as Mick Abrahams’ blues stylings are largely absent from Martin Barre’s playing. The influence of folk music also began to manifest itself (“Look Into the Sun”). The instrumental “Bouree,” which could’ve been an early Blood, Sweat & Tears track, became a favorite concert number, although at this point Anderson’s flute playing on-stage needed a lot of work; by his own admission, he just wasn’t that good. Bassist Cornick would last through only one more album, but he gets his best moments here, on “Bouree.” As a story song with opaque lyrics and jarring tempo changes, “Back to the Family” is the forerunner to Thick as a Brick. The only major flaw in this album is the mix, which divides the electric and acoustic instruments and fails to find a solid center. The LP comes with a “pop-up” jacket interior.

01. A New Day Yesterday (Steven Wilson Remix)
02. Jeffrey Goes To Leicester Square (Steven Wilson Remix)
03. Bourée (Steven Wilson Remix)
04. Back To The Family (Steven Wilson Remix)
05. Look Into The Sun (Steven Wilson Remix)
06. Nothing Is Easy (Steven Wilson Remix)
07. Fat Man (Steven Wilson Remix)
08. We Used To Know (Steven Wilson Remix)
09. Reasons For Waiting (Steven Wilson Remix)
10. For A Thousand Mothers (Steven Wilson Remix)
11. Living In The Past (Steven Wilson Remix)
12. Driving Song (Steven Wilson Remix)
13. Bourée (Morgan Version) (Steven Wilson Remix)
14. Living In The Past (Original Stereo Mix)
15. Driving Song (Original Stereo Mix)
16. Living In The Past (Original Mono Mix)
17. Driving Song (Original Mono Mix)

Ian Anderson – vocals, flute, acoustic guitar, Hammond organ, piano, mandolin, balalaika, mouth organ
Martin Lancelot Barre – electric guitar, flute (on tracks 2, 9)
Glenn Cornick – bass (all tracks but 5)
Clive Bunker – drums, percussion