Jennifer Koh, Odense Symphony Orchestra, Alexander Vedernikov – Tchaikovsky: Complete Works for Violin and Orchestra (2016) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Complete Works for Violin and Orchestra – Jennifer Koh, Odense Symphony Orchestra, Alexander Vedernikov (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:14:20 minutes | 1,24 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front cover | © Cedille Records
Recorded: September 14—17, 2015, in the Odense Concert House’s Carl Nielsen Hall, Odense, Denmark

The outstanding American violinist Jennifer Koh, who has produced a string of terrific CDs for the Cedille label featuring contemporary compositions, returns to the standard repertoire for her latest release, Tchaikovsky Complete Works for Violin and Orchestra, with Alexander Vedernikov conducting the Odense Symphony Orchestra (CDR 90000 166). The trademark Koh intelligence and sensitivity in programming is still there, however: Vedernikov was the conductor when the 15-year-old Koh played the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D Major Op.35 in the International Tchaikovsky Competition for Young Musicians in 1992, the same year in which she first played with the Odense Symphony, and in 2011 all three performed together for the first time.
Koh admits to possibly being more patient in the concerto after all these years, and there is certainly never any sense of rushing in what is a carefully measured and highly lyrical performance. There aren’t quite the fireworks that you’ll find in some recordings, perhaps, but that doesn’t in any way diminish the interpretation here – it’s a thoughtful, personal statement from a player with impeccable technique.
Tchaikovsky’s works for violin and orchestra all date from the years 1875-78. The Sérénade melancolique in B Minor Op.26 from 1875 and the Valse-Scherzo in C Major Op.34 from 1877 open the disc, with the 1878 concerto as the central work; the Glazunov orchestration of the three-piece Souvenir d’un lieu cher Op.42, also from 1878, completes a highly satisfying CD.


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Sérénade mélancolique, Op. 26
1 Sérénade mélancolique, Op. 26 10:32
Valse-scherzo, Op. 34
2 Valse-scherzo, Op. 34 06:20
Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35
3 I. Allegro moderato 19:54
4 II. Canzonetta: Andante 07:20
5 III. Finale: Allegro vivacissimo 10:47
Souvenir d’un lieu cher, Op. 42 (arr. A.K. Glazunov for violin and orchestra)
6 I. Meditation 10:37
7 II. Scherzo 03:52
8 III. Melodie 04:19

Jennifer Koh, violin
Odense Symphony Orchestra
Alexander Vedernikov, conductore