Jan Vogler – Tchaikovsky (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Jan Vogler – Tchaikovsky (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 01:12:23 minutes | 751 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Sony Classical

Cellist Jan Vogler could have used the Pezzo Capriccioso, Op. 62, in this group of pieces by Tchaikovsky; unlike the two short pieces here. There are also a fragmentary Tchaikovsky Cello Concerto and a Gaspar Cassadó “Tchaikovsky cello concerto” from 1940, arranged from piano pieces. But rather than try to collect every last scrap of Tchaikovsky’s cello music, Vogler pursues a course that leads to a more coherent program: the use of the cello in a variety of works that explore the lighter, Mozartian side of Tchaikovsky’s output. At the center of the program are the Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33, Tchaikovsky’s largest work for cello and orchestra. Vogler plays a hybrid between Tchaikovsky’s original and the commonly played version by cellist William Fitzenhagen; he reintroduces Tchaikovsky’s original finale in the middle of the work (sample track 7). This might not be an ideal solution in all cases, but it lightens the piece and fits with the rest of the program. The unusual item on a solo cello release is the Sextet for strings in D minor, Op. 70 (“Souvenir de Florence”), but this breezy work is an ideal complement to the Variations. Each of these larger works is introduced by an arrangement; the version of the Sérénade Mélancolique in B flat minor, Op. 26, is by Vogler himself, and you could easily imagine it entering the repertory. The Frankfurt Radio Symphony and Moritzburg Festival Ensemble hew to Vogler’s light, almost easygoing tone, and the result is a satisfying Tchaikovsky recital.


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

1 Sérénade mélancolique for Cello and Orchestra in B-Flat Minor, Op. 26 09:23

Variations on a rococo theme for cello and orchestra, Op. 33 in major
2 Moderato assai quasi andante 00:52
3 Thema. Moderato semplice 01:38
4 Variation I. Tempo della Thema 00:55
5 Variation II. Tempo della Thema 01:18
6 Variation IIIa. Andante sostenuto 03:37
7 Variation IIIb. Allegro 01:11
8 Variation IV. Andante grazioso 02:06
9 Variation V. Allegro moderato 03:18
10 Variation VI. Andante 02:25
11 Variation VII. Coda. Allegro vivo 02:15

Souvenir d’un lieu cher for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 42
12 I. Méditation 09:57

Souvenir de florence, sextet for strings, Op. 70 in minor
13 I. Allegro con spirito 10:27
14 II. Adagio cantabile e con moto 09:52
15 III. Allegro moderato 06:12
16 IV. Allegro vivace 06:56

Jan Vogler, cello
Frankfurt Radio Symphony
Moritzburg Festival Ensemble (Souvenir de Florence, Op. 70)
Andrés Orozco-Estrada, conductor