Jan Lisiecki – Chopin: Etudes (2013) [HRA FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Frederic Chopin – Etudes – Jan Lisiecki (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:00:15 minutes | 895 MB | Genre: Classical
Official Digital Download – Source: highresaudio.com | @ Deutsche Grammophon
Recorded: January 2013, The Royal Conservatory Of Music, Toronto, Canada

The incredible Jan Lisiecki performs both cycles of Chopin’s virtuosic Études. This is the second Deutsche Grammophon release from the young Canadian pianist, and his first-ever studio recital album
Chopin’s Études are among the most challenging and evocative pieces of all the works in the piano repertoire. Jan Lisiecki has just finished recording the Études in the famous Koerner Hall of the Music Conservatory in Toronto. The Royal Conservatory has been involved in the training of many notable artists such as the pianists Glenn Gould and Oscar Peterson

Jan Lisiecki’s 2013 Deutsche Grammophon album of Frédéric Chopin’s two sets of Études, Opp. 10 and 25, is certainly a bold demonstration of youthful vitality and dynamic virtuosity, but it is also a highly personal interpretation that is surprisingly Romantic in character, if not idiosyncratically so. There’s never a worry that he’ll miss a note or execute a passage ineptly, for Lisiecki is a fine player who can handle any difficulty these intricate study pieces hold in store. Yet there is always a slight feeling of impending recklessness, as if Lisiecki could turn the music on its head at any moment. Nothing is staid, everything is in motion. After several decades of pianists playing Chopin close to the vest, with a rhythmic regularity and evenness of phrasing that emphasize the Classical impulse, along comes Lisiecki with his flexible dynamics, playful rhythmic teasing, and impulsive expressions, characteristics that are perhaps more suggestive of Liszt’s extroverted style than Chopin’s introversion. Lisiecki knows that his audience wants bravado and a degree of flamboyance, and these qualities come across fully in his playing here. Deutsche Grammophon’s sound is exemplary, with superb clarity and depth. -AllMusic Review by Blair Sanderson

Frédéric Chopin (1810 – 1849)
12 Etudes, Op.10
1. No.1 In C 02:04
2. No.2 In A Minor 01:30
3. No.3 In E 03:54
4. No.4 In C Sharp Minor 02:11
5. No.5 In G Flat 01:41
6. No.6 In E Flat Minor 03:16
7. No.7 In C 01:37
8. No.8 In F 02:33
9. No.9 In F Minor 02:04
10. No.10 In A Flat 02:17
11. No.11 In E Flat 02:37
12. No.12 In C Minor 02:46
12 Etudes, Op.25
13. No.1 In A Flat 02:25
14. No.2 In F Minor 01:27
15. No.3 In F 01:58
16. No.4 In A Minor 01:52
17. No.5 In E Minor 03:25
18. No.6 In G Sharp Minor 02:07
19. No.7 In C Sharp Minor 05:57
20. No.8 In D Flat 01:07
21. No.9 In G Flat 00:56
22. No.10 In B Minor 03:51
23. No.11 In A Minor 03:38
24. No.12 In C Minor 02:51

Jan Lisiecki, piano