James Taylor – Walking Man (1974/2013) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

James Taylor – Walking Man (1974/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 34:04 minutes | 1,2 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Rhino/Warner Bros.

Walking Man is James Taylor’s 1974 classic. The recording features Taylor’s growth as a songwriter and musician. It reached the Billboard Top Twenty and includes the James Taylor fan favorite song, “Walking Man.” The recording features an array of guest musicians including Paul and Linda McCartney, Carly Simon, Randy Brecker and many, many more.

One Man Dog drastically lowered expectations for a new James Taylor album, and those expectations were almost met by Walking Man, a more considered effort than its predecessor that managed to be just as trivial but even less interesting. As a result, it became the worst-selling album of Taylor’s career. Somehow, a songwriter who had seemed in 1970 to have as precise an idea of the national mood as Bob Dylan had had in 1965 now seemed to be a man without a country. Earlier in the year, Taylor had hit the Top 5 with a cover of “Mockingbird” sung with his wife, Carly Simon, but this record lacked even the charming inconsequentiality of that performance, something Taylor would regain and live off of in later years. Instead, Walking Man, which began with Taylor asking, “Who is this walking man?” and ended with him commenting, “It’s really not so bad to be fading away,” sounded like the statement of a songwriter who either had nothing to say or didn’t know how to say it.

01 – Walking Man
02 – Rock ‘N’ Roll Is Music Now
03 – Let It All Fall Down
04 – Me And My Guitar
05 – Daddy’s Baby
06 – Ain’t No Song
07 – Hello Old Friend
08 – Migration
09 – The Promised Land
10 – Fading Away