Jacques Brel – Olympia 1961 (1962) [Reissue 2004] MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz

Jacques Brel – Enregistrement Public À L’Olympia 1961 (1962) [Reissue 2004]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 48:17 minutes | Scans NOT included | 2,96 GB
or DSD64 2.0 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Scans NOT included | 1,9 GB
or FLAC Stereo (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/44,1 kHz | Scans NOT included | 544 MB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Barclay/Universal France/Philips # 981 895-7

Jacques Romain Georges Brel was a Belgian singer, songwriter, actor and director who composed and performed literate, thoughtful, and theatrical songs that generated a large, devoted following – initially in Belgium and France, later throughout the world. He is considered a master of the modern chanson. Enregistrement Public à l’Olympia 1961 is his first live album. Also known as A L’Olympia, the album was reissued in October 2003 under Jacques Brel’s reissue campaign, and year later as SACD.

The 1961 gig offers the premier recordings of “Madeleine” and “Les Bourgeois” in addition to 13 hits. Brel’s humor is sharp, like a stiletto. His reading of his hit “La Valse à Mille Temps” reveals him to be in great spirits and apparently included a bit of theater with a prop. In addition, the reading of his classic “Ne Me Quitte Pas” (Please Don’t Leave Me) is perhaps his finest on record. Accompanied by an accordionist and pianist as well as a drummer and a brass section, the sheer joie de vivre of this performance is over the top. This is a brilliant set, and a great place to start for anyone wishing to encounter the seductive and dark power of Brel for the first time.


01. Les Prénoms de Paris (Names for Paris)
02. Les Bourgeois (The Middle Class)
03. Les Paumés de Petit Matin (The Lost Souls of Early Morning)
04. Les Flamandes (Flemish Women)
05. La Statue (The Statue)
06. Zangra
07. Marieke
08. Les Biches (The Does)
09. Madeleine
10. Les Singes (The Apes)
11. L ‘Ivrogne (The Drunk)
12. La Valse à Mille Temps (The Waltz a Thousand Times as Fast)
13. Ne Me Quitte Pas (Don’t Leave Me)
14. Le Moribond
15. Quand on N’A Que l’Amour (When We Have Only Love)

Jacques Brel – vocals
Gérard Jouannest – piano
François Rauber – piano
Jean Corti – accordion
Daniel Janin – Orchestra conductor

Recorded Live on October 27-29, 1961 at the Olympia, Paris.





FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz