Jackie Brenston – Rocket 88 (1951/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Jackie Brenston – Rocket 88 (1951/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 32:31 minutes | 638 MB | Genre: Soul, Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RevOla

“Rocket 88” (originally stylized as Rocket “88”) is a rhythm and blues song that was first recorded in Memphis, Tennessee, in March 1951. The recording was credited to “Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats”, who were actually Ike Turner and his Kings of Rhythm. The single reached number-one on the Billboard R&B chart.

Many music writers acknowledge its importance in the development of rock and roll music, with several considering it to be the first rock and roll record. In 2017, the Mississippi Blues Trail dedicated its 200th marker to “Rocket 88” as an influential record. The song was inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame in 1991, the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1998, and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2018.

1. Jackie Brenston – Rocket 88 (Remastered)
2. Jackie Brenston – Come Back Where You Belong (Remastered)
3. Jackie Brenston – Tuckered Out (Remastered)
4. Jackie Brenston – My Real Gone Rocket (Remastered)
5. Jackie Brenston – Independant Woman (Remastered)
6. Jackie Brenston – Hi-Ho Baby (Remastered)
7. Jackie Brenston – Leo The Louse (Remastered)
8. Jackie Brenston – Blues Got Me Again (Remastered)
9. Jackie Brenston – Starvation (Remastered)
10. Jackie Brenston – Gonna Wait For My Chance (Remastered)
11. Jackie Brenston – What Can It Be? (Remastered)
12. Jackie Brenston – The Mistreater (Remastered)
13. Jackie Brenston – Much Later (Remastered)