Jacintha – Here’s to Ben: A Vocal Tribute to Ben Webster (1998) [AcousticSounds DSF DSD64/2.82MHz + FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Jacintha – Here’s to Ben: A Vocal Tribute to Ben Webster (1998)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | Time – 00:54:48 minutes | 2,16 + 1,85 GB | Genre:Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds |  © Groove Note Records
Recorded March 17th – 18th, 1998 at the Ocean Way Recording Studios in Los Angeles, CA

Cover art and liner notes included

DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the SACD cutting master.
“Absolutely stunning.” — Michael Fremer, for Tracking Angle

Fantastic debut album by the well-known Asian singer Jacintha, a tribute to tenor sax great Ben Webster, for the Groove Note label. Jacintha’s first fully-fledged pure jazz album and the first to utilize what we feel is the marvelous potential of her voice in the jazz vocal category. Featuring tenor sax great Teddy Edwards on tenor and ex-Miles Davis keyboardist Kei Akagi (piano). Recorded live to 2-track 30 ips 1/4-inch analogue tape at Oceanway Hollywood. This is now a long-established audiophile reference album for female vocals.

When you link your musical objective to a jazz icon like Ben Webster, certain expectations are created and, as here, rarely are these expectations met. Certainly, Jacintha sings songs Webster played, and she sings them very nicely. But there’s none of the raspy timbre in her voice that made Webster’s saxophone immediately recognizable. Jacintha confuses raspy with singing softly. She and the producers would have been better served by presenting these songs as hers, not Webster’s. The focus then would be where it belongs (i.e., what she does with these classics). With excellent pitch, good diction, and sensitive interpretations of the lyrics, she makes these songs her own. One highlight is her a cappella treatment of “Danny Boy.” Throughout the session, Jacintha receives solid support from veteran Teddy Edwards’ blues-drenched saxophone (he’s a lot closer to Webster than Jacintha is). He and Jacintha work well together, as on “How Long Has This Been Going On?” The venerable drummer Larance Marable and bass player Darek Oles combine to lay a solid, sensitive foundation for the proceedings. Oles’ bass is especially prominent on “Over the Rainbow.” Former Miles Davis pianist Kei Akagi is a capable accompanist. This album is a solid enough effort solely on the strength of Jacintha’s natural talent. The obeisance to Webster was not only unnecessary, but distracting. -AllMusic Review by Dave Nathan

1 Georgia On My Mind 5:17
2 Our Love Is Here To Stay 3:17
3 Tenderly 5:22
4 Somewhere Over The Rainbow 9:39
5 How Long Has This Been Going On? 5:25
6 Stardust 6:37
7 In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning 4:12
8 Pennies From Heaven 3:10
9 Danny Boy 7:21
10 The Look Of Love 4:08

Jacintha, vocals
Teddy Edwards, tenor saxophone
Kei Akagi, piano
Darek Oles, bass
Larance Marable, drums

DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz


FLAC 24bit/192kHz