Isaac Hayes – Tough Guys (1974/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Isaac Hayes – Tough Guys (1974/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 33:49 minutes | 1,45 GB | Genre: R&B, Soul, Funk
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Stax Records/Concord Music Group
Recorded: Hot Buttered Soul Recording Studio

One of Isaac Hayes’ richest soundtracks – deeper and more complicated than the groove of Shaft and Truck Turner, and filled with some great tunes that glow with color, life, and imagination – showing an Isaac Hayes that almost seems to be moving beyond the usual blackploitation groove! The album sports 2 really classic tunes – the title theme “Tough Guys“, and the classic “Hung Up On My Baby” – both of which have a solidly funky feel that will more than please the usual soundtrack beathead crowd. But overall, the other tunes twist and turn in a delightful mix of modes – expanding on the soulful territory Ike first explored in his original soundtracks, and offering up a great range of moods and emotion. The album’s got some especially great chromatic guitar work – and other titles include “Joe Bell”, “Randolph & Dearborn”, “Buns O Plenty”, “Run Fay Run”, and “Red Rooster”.

1 Title Theme “Three Tough Guys” 02:35
2 Randolph & Dearborn 04:27
3 The Red Rooster 04:07
4 Joe Bell 04:59
5 Hung Up On My Baby 06:18
6 Kidnapped 02:43
7 Run Faye Run 02:48
8 Buns O’ Plenty 04:39
9 The End Theme 01:13

Isaac Hayes, vocals, keyboards, arranger
The Movement, rhythm
Memphis Symphony Orchestra, strings
Hot Buttered Soul Unlimited, backing vocals