Iron Maiden – Somewhere Back In Time: The Best Of 1990-2010 (2008/2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Iron Maiden – Somewhere Back In Time: The Best Of 1990-2010 (2008/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:11:50 minutes | 883 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Parlophone UK

“Somewhere Back in Time – The Best of: 1980 – 1989” is a best of release by the British heavy metal band Iron Maiden, containing a selection of songs originally recorded for their first eight albums (including Live After Death). The album was released in conjunction with the band’s Somewhere Back In Time World Tour to allow new fans to listen to a selection of the band’s material that was played on the tour.

Heavy metal stalwarts Iron Maiden have yet to receive the “royal treatment” when it comes to the anthology section of their surprisingly consistent catalog (we’ll just let the two records with Bruce Dickinsin’ replacement Blaze Bayley disappear into the ether), but Sony’s Somewhere Back in Time: The Best of 1980-1989 provides listeners with a semi-decent set of heavy metal crib notes from the group’s most popular era. Like previous compilations, the inclusion of cuts like “Run to the Hills,” “Number of the Beast,” “2 Minutes to Midnight,” and “The Trooper” is a no-brainer, and great album tracks like “Powerslave” and “Evil That Men Do” make for a fun listen, but one has to question the validity of populating a greatest-hits collection with four tracks culled from a live performance.

01 – Intro (Churchill’s Speech)
02 – Aces High (Live)
03 – 2 Minutes To Midnight
04 – The Trooper
05 – Wasted Years
06 – Children Of The Damned
07 – The Number Of The Beast
08 – Run to the Hills
09 – Phantom Of The Opera (Live)
10 – The Evil That Men Do
11 – Wrathchild (Live)
12 – Can I Play With Madness
13 – Powerslave
14 – Hallowed Be Thy Name
15 – Iron Maiden (Live)