Iron Maiden – From Fear To Eternity: The Best Of 1990-2010 (2011/2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Iron Maiden – From Fear To Eternity: The Best Of 1990-2010 (2011/2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 02:33:47 minutes | 1,77 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Parlophone UK

“From Fear to Eternity: The Best of 1990-2010” is a compilation album by British heavy metal band Iron Maiden, containing a selection of songs originally released on the eight studio albums from “No Prayer for the Dying” to “The Final Frontier”. The title is lifted from the 1992 single, “From Here to Eternity”, although it is not featured in this release. As with “Somewhere Back in Time”, each track is sung by Bruce Dickinson rather than Blaze Bayley, the band again opting to use later live versions of songs which originally featured other lead vocalists.

From Fear to Eternity: The Best of 1990-2010 collects 23 tracks over the span of two discs from the venerable British heavy metal legends. The first anthology to cover the band’s post-halcyon days, it’s remarkable how seamless the transition was. Unlike other acts that left their handprints in the cement in the late ’70s and ’80s, Iron Maiden never really lost steam, despite a mid-’90s shake-up that saw iconic lead singer Bruce Dickinson swapped out with Wolfsbane vocalist Blaze Bayley for two albums. The addition of keyboards, a controversial, late-’80s move that split some fans upon the releases of Somewhere in Time (1986) and Seventh Son of a Seventh Son (1988), proved largely tasteful and subtle, and did little to hinder their signature blend of fantasy-fueled symphonic metal and straight-up English hard rock. Culled from eight studio albums (including the pair of Bayley offerings), the songs on From Fear to Eternity may not reach the dizzying heights of the band’s Piece of Mind/Number of the Beast heyday, but stand-out cuts like “The Wicker Man,” “Different World,” “Tailgunner,” “Dance of Death,” and “Brave New World” bristle with the energy and conviction of a group 20 years younger. Dickinson’s voice is apparently indestructible, and the triple-guitar attack, held down to the mat by the incomparable Steve Harris (founder/bassist), remains a veritable master class in heavy metal picking. It’s an impressive feat, to say the least, but what stands out the most is the fact the band has amassed the kind of loyal, age-defying fan base that virtually guarantees a lifetime of sold-out world tours, a feat they managed to pull off without ever selling themselves out.

01 – The Wicker Man
02 – Holy Smoke
03 – El Dorado
04 – Paschendale
05 – Different World
06 – Man On The Edge (Live)
07 – The Reincarnation Of Benjamin Breeg
08 – Blood Brothers
09 – Rainmaker
10 – Sign Of The Cross (Live ‘2001)
11 – Brave New World
12 – Fear Of The Dark (Live ‘2001)
13 – Be Quick Or Be Dead
14 – Tailgunner
15 – No More Lies
16 – Coming Home
17 – The Clansman (Live ‘2001)
18 – For The Greater Good Of God
19 – These Colours Don’t Run
20 – Bring Your Daughter… To The Slaughter
21 – Afraid To Shoot Strangers
22 – Dance Of Death
23 – When The Wild Wind Blows