Iron Maiden – A Matter Of Life And Death (2006/2015) [e-onkyo 24bit/96kHz]

Iron Maiden – A Matter Of Life And Death (2006/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 01:12:04 minutes | 1,52 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: e-onkyo | © Parlophone Records
Recorded: 1 March – 4 May 2006 at Sarm West Studios, London

2003’s Dance of Death marked the triumphant return of old-school Iron Maiden. Gone were the murky, over-produced set pieces that clogged 2000’s Brave New World and in their place fell blistering slabs of Piece of Mind-era metal. That trend continues with their 14th full-length album, Matter of Life and Death, a more elaborate and meandering experience than Dance of Death, but a rewarding one for fans willing to indulge the group’s occasional excess. At over 70 minutes, Matter of Life and Death is closer to 1988’s woefully underrated Seventh Son of a Seventh Son than it is to Piece of Mind, but with far less keyboard tickling. Recorded live in the studio, epics like “Reincarnation of Benjamin Breeg,” “Brighter Than a Thousand Suns,” and the brutal “Longest Day” — the whole record is a loosely-knit song cycle with war at its core — exhume prog rock complexity and discipline yet manage to bristle with the kind of small-club intensity usually reserved for acts half their age. At just over four minutes, opener “Different World” — a near twin of Dance of Death’s “Wildest Dreams” — is the only cut that screams single, but it’s also the most misplaced. On a record that positions beloved avatar Eddy on top of a tank with a machine gun leading a weary troop of skeletal soldiers to their doom, any act of brevity, no matter how expertly crafted, sticks out like a saxophone solo. -James Christopher Monger


1 Different World 4:17
2 These Colours Don’t Run 6:52
3 Brighter Than A Thousand Suns 8:44
4 The Pilgrim 5:07
5 The Longest Day 7:48
6 Out Of The Shadows 5:36
7 The Reincarnation Of Benjamin Breeg 7:21
8 For The Greater Good Of God 9:24
9 Lord Of Light 7:23
10 The Legacy 9:20

Bruce Dickinson – lead vocals
Dave Murray – guitar
Adrian Smith – guitar, guitar synthesiser on “Brighter than a Thousand Suns”
Janick Gers – guitar
Steve Harris – bass guitar, keyboards
Nicko McBrain – drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.